Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Political Status

The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) emerged from the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI) which the United States administered on behalf of the United Nations from 1947 until Palau, the last member of the TTPI to choose its own political future, became an independent country 1994. The Federal law (the Covenant) making the CNMI a U.S. territory passed in 1975. The CNMI adopted its constitution in 1977, and its first constitutional government took office in 1978. The CNMI came under Federal minimum wage regulations in 2007 and immigration law in 2008. In June 2009, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security takes over the CNMI's immigration and border controls.

CNMI Leadership

Arnold Palacios

Governor of the Northern Mariana Islands

Office of the Governor

Caller Box 10007

Capital Hill

Saipan, MP  96950

1 (670) 664-2280

1 (670) 664-2211 Fax

Gregorio Camacho Sablan

U.S. Representative

U.S. House of Representatives

2411 Rayburn House Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20515

Telephone (202) 225-2646

Fax (202) 226-4249

Former Resident Representatives

Former Governors


Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment