Former Representatives of Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands to the United States House of Representatives

When the Northern Mariana Islands became a Commonwealth of the United States in 1978, it had elected representatives resident in Washington, D.C. representing the interests of the people of the CNMI.

In May 2008, President George W. Bush signed into law, Senate Bill 2739 (H.R. 3079) which included the provision for having a member of congress from the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas. On January 6, 2009, Gregorio Camacho Sablan became the first U.S. Representative from the CNMI to the U.S. Congress and the CNMI became the last U.S. insular area with a significant population to finally have a delegate in the U.S. House of Representatives.

1978 – 1984: T.H. Edward Dlg. Pangelinan (D) – Resident Representative

1984 – 1990: T.H. Froilan C. Tenorio (D) – Resident Representative

1990 – 2002: T.H. Juan N. Babauta (R) – Resident Representative

2002 – 2009: T.H. Pete A. Tenorio (R) – Resident Representative

2009 – present: T.H. Gregorio Camacho Sablan (I) – U.S. Representative

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment