Licensure Requirements and Appraisal Standards

Licensure Requirements

The Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA), under the provisions of Title XI, created the Appraisal Subcommittee, which oversees state appraiser regulatory agencies and establishes the qualifications for real property appraisers to obtain a state license or certification. The minimum level of state appraisal licensure required for all AVSO appraisers is Certified General. 

 Appraisal Standards  

In January 1989, the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) established the generally accepted standards of professional appraisal practice throughout the United States, to which AVSO appraisers adhere. AVSO also adheres to the Uniform Appraisal Standards for Federal Land Acquisitions (UASFLA), when applicable.

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment