National Disaster Recovery Framework

National Disaster Recovery Framework

***This text is taken directly from the Draft New Jersey RSS (24th June 2013 draft)***

The National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) provides organizational and operational guidance for whole community engagement in disaster recovery. Whole community recovery is the process by which community leaders and residents, supported by planners and other technical assistance providers create and implement a recovery plan that addresses the needs and interests of all the constituencies within the community, including business and home owners, families, children, seniors and individuals with access and functional needs.

Under the NDRF, Federal recovery efforts are coordinated by a Federal Disaster Recovery Coordinator (FDRC) who serves as a Deputy to the Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) in the Joint Field Office (JFO). The FDRC works in partnership with the State Disaster Recovery Coordinator (SDRC) and a Hazard Mitigation Advisor to identify and integrate whole community solutions for state, community, individual and family disaster recovery. Six sector-specific Federal Recovery Support Functions (RSFs) support the State and municipalities by facilitating problem solving, providing technical assistance, improving access to resources, building capacity and promoting community planning.

Recent disasters have shown the need for greater structure and coordination in how the nation addresses recovery. Recognizing this, Federal managers developed the NDRF, which was approved by President Obama in 2011. The Framework is based on the principle that the Federal Government, the private sector, non-profit organizations, individual citizens, and local, state and Tribal government agencies, have a role to play in the recovery process. The NDRF advances the concept that recovery goes beyond restoring a community’s physical structures to its pre-disaster conditions. Of equal or more, the importance is the ability of individuals and families to rebound from their losses in a manner that sustains their physical, emotional, social and economic well-being. The restoration of infrastructure systems and services is equally critical during recovery.

The NDRF is guided by nine core principles:

  1. Individual and Family Empowerment
  2. Leadership and Local Primacy
  3. Pre-Disaster Recovery Planning
  4. Partnerships and Inclusiveness
  5. Public Information
  6. Unity of Effort
  7. Timeliness and Flexibility
  8. Resilience and Sustainability
  9. Psychological and Emotional Recovery

National Disaster Recovery Framework Pre and Post Disaster Recovery Managers Responsibilities:

National Disaster Recovery Framework (PDF)

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment