The sponsor of each non-DOI site below is identified, but no endorsement of outside organizations or opinions is implied. DOI assumes no responsibility for the content of non-DOI site.

  1. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. EEOC enforces Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, Equal Pay Act of 1963, Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA), Sections 501 and 505 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Titles I and V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), and the Civil Rights Act of 1991. Instructions are provided for Federal employees to file a complaint. There is a National Enforcement Plan which identifies priority issues for administrative enforcement and litigation. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires Federal agencies to establish and maintain effective affirmative programs of equal employment opportunity to ensure that all employees and applicants for employment enjoy equality of opportunity in the federal workplace regardless of race, sex, national origin, color, religion, disability or reprisal for engaging in prior protected activity.
    1. MD-715 Title VII and Rehabilitation Act Programs
  2. The Office of Personnel Management, establishes Federal personnel policy, shown in a topical index, with updates posted as Federal Register Documents. OPM also requires that agencies establish a:
    1. Federal Equal Opportunity Recruitment Program (FEORP):
      CFR Title 5, Part 720, Subpart A (text)
      CFR Title 5, Part 720, Subpart B (text)
    2. Disabled Veterans Affirmative Action Program (DVAAP):
      CFR Title 5, Part 720, Subpart A (text)
      CFR Title 5, Part 720, Subpart C (text)
  1. The Merit System Protection Board is the guardian of the Federal Government's merit-based system of employment, primarily by hearing and deciding appeals from Federal employees of removals and other major personnel actions. The Board also hears and decides other types of civil service cases, reviews significant actions and regulations of the Office of Personnel Management, and conducts studies of the merit systems.
  2. The Office of Management and Budget, in the revisions to Directive 15, establishes the standards on race and ethnicity to be used by Federal agencies and the U.S. Census.
  3. The Federal Register, October 30, 1997 lays out Standards for Maintaining, Collecting, and Presenting Federal Data on Race and Ethnicity.