10 Buildings by Frank Lloyd Wright Nominated to the World Heritage List

Last edited 9/5/2019

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell today announced that the United States is nominating a group of 10 buildings in seven states designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright for inclusion on the World Heritage List, which recognizes the most significant cultural and natural sites on the planet.

The nominated group, entitled “Key Works of Modern Architecture by Frank Lloyd Wright,” consists of Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois; Frederick C. Robie House in Chicago, Illinois; Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin; Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, California; Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pennsylvania; Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin; Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City; Price Tower in Bartlesville, Oklahoma; and Marin County Civic Center in San Rafael, California.

This would be the first World Heritage listing for the United States in the field of modern architecture. The Wright works would join the Sydney Opera House, the city of Brasilia and the Bauhaus School in Germany as examples of modern architecture recognized on the list.