Secretary Haaland Announces Members of the First-Ever Secretary’s Tribal Advisory Committee

Last edited 02/07/2024

Date: Wednesday, June 15, 2022


WASHINGTON – In remarks at the National Congress of American Indians 2022 Mid Year Conference today, Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland announced the launch of the first-ever Secretary’s Tribal Advisory Committee (STAC). 

The STAC, which was announced as part of the 2021 White House Tribal Nations Summit, will ensure Tribal leaders have direct and consistent contact and communication with the current and future Department officials to facilitate robust discussions on intergovernmental responsibilities, exchange views, share information and provide advice and recommendations regarding Departmental programs and funding that impact Tribal Nations to advance the federal trust responsibility. 

“Tribes deserve a seat at the decision-making table before policies are made that impact their communities. Tribal members who are joining the first-ever Secretary’s Tribal Advisory Committee will be integral to ensuring Tribal leaders can engage at the highest levels of the Department on the issues that matter most to their people,” said Secretary Haaland. “I look forward to continued engagement and ensuring that the Department honors and strengthens our nation-to-nation relationships with Tribes.” 

The STAC is composed of a primary Tribal representative from each of the 12 Bureau of Indian Affairs Regions (BIA), and one alternate member from each region. The members are appointed on a staggered term for up to two years. The Secretary, in consultation with the Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs, will designate one member of the STAC to serve as chairperson. 

The members of the STAC, listed by BIA Region, are below:  

Alaska Region 

  • Primary member: Robert Keith; President, Native Village of Elim 
  • Alternate member: Gayla Hoseth; Second Tribal Chief for the Curyung Tribal Council 

Eastern Region 

  • Primary member: Kelly Dennis; Councilwoman, Shinnecock Indian Nation 
  • Alternate member: Stephanie Bryan; Tribal Chair, Poarch Creek Indians 

Eastern Oklahoma Region 

  • Primary member: Gary Batton; Chief, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma 
  • Alternate member: Del Beaver; Second Chief, Muscogee (Creek) Nation 

Great Plains Region 

  • Primary member: Dionne Crawford; Councilwoman, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate for the Lake Traverse District 
  • Alternate member: Cora White Horse; Councilwoman, Oglala Sioux Tribe 

Midwest Region 

  • Primary member: Whitney Gravelle; President, Bay Mills Indian Community 
  • Alternate member: Michelle Beaudin; Councilwoman, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin 

Navajo Region  

  • Primary member: Jonathan Nez; President, Navajo Nation 
  • Alternate member: Daniel Tso; Council Delegate, Navajo Nation 

Northwest Region 

  • Primary member: Kat Brigham; Chair of the Board of Trustees, Confederated Tribes of Umatilla Indian Reservation 
  • Alternate member: Timothy Greene; Chairman, Makah Tribe 

Pacific Region 

  • Primary member: Erica Pinto; Chairwoman, Jamul Indian Village of California 
  • Alternate member: Reid Milanovich; Chairman, Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians 

Rocky Mountain Region 

  • Primary member: Jody LaMere; Councilwoman, Chippewa Cree Tribe of the Rocky Boy’s Reservation 
  • Alternate member: Jordan Dresser; Chairman, Northern Arapaho Business Council 

Southern Plains Region 

  • Primary member: Walter Echo-Hawk; President, Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma 
  • Alternate member: Reggie Wassana; Governor, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma 

Southwest Region 

  • Primary member: Mark Mitchell; APCG Chairman, Pueblo of Tesuque 
  • Alternate member: Christopher Moquino; Governor, Pueblo de San Ildefonso 

Western Region 

  • Primary member: Amber Torres; Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe 
  • Alternate member: Terry Rambler; Chairman, San Carlos Apache Tribe 


Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment