Readout of the Biden-Harris Administration’s First Meeting of the White House Council on Native American Affairs

Last edited 04/26/2021

Date: Friday, April 23, 2021 

Today, Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland and Domestic Policy Advisor Susan Rice convened the first meeting of the White House Council on Native American Affairs in the Biden-Harris Administration. The Council will coordinate with Tribal Nations as it advances work on key issues such as climate change, Tribal homelands and treaties; economic development, energy and infrastructure; health; education; public safety and justice; and international Indigenous issues.

Ten Cabinet Secretaries and other top government officials participated in discussions focused on strengthening the Nation-to-Nation relationship, improving tribal consultation, and formalizing the working committees of the Council.

In addition, the White House today announced that it will hold a White House Tribal Leaders Summit in late 2021. The purpose of the Summit is to provide an opportunity for the leaders from the 574 federally recognized Tribal Nations to have an opportunity to interact directly with the President and representatives from the highest levels of the Administration.

The White House Council on Native American Affairs was established by Executive Order in 2013. The Council languished in the last Administration. President Biden reinstated the Council in less than 100 days in office.

Participants at the virtual meeting included agency leadership and senior White House officials representing:

  • Department of the Interior
  • Domestic Policy Council
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of Labor
  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Office of Personnel Management
  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Small Business Administration
  • Social Security Administration
  • Department of State
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Treasury
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • US Ambassador to the United Nations
  • US Trade Representative
  • Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
  • Denali Commission
  • Gender Policy Council
  • Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • National Climate Advisor
  • Office of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Cabinet Affairs


Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment