Interior’s Office of Insular Affairs Now Accepting Applications from U.S. Territories for Energy Projects

Deadline June 15th

Last edited 02/22/2022
Contact Information

Contact: 202-355-3023 or

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of the Interior’s Office of Insular Affairs has announced that proposals are now being accepted for the Energizing Insular Communities (EIC) grant program for fiscal year (FY) 2022. The anticipated total funding available to the territories is $15.5 million. Those eligible to apply are local government entities, independent authorities, and educational institutions located in the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The deadline to apply is June 15, 2022.

“In a meeting last week with the Governors and territorial leadership at the Interagency Group on Insular Areas, among other important matters, we discussed ways to leverage various funding resources for infrastructure in the territories as well as the long-term strategies for implementing each territory’s energy and resource plans,” said Keone Nakoa, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Insular and International Affairs. “I would encourage the applicants to consider ways to leverage these EIC funds to advance key energy priorities in the territories.”  

Each proposal will be reviewed and evaluated for two important criteria:

  1. whether the proposal is directly tied to the territory’s respective strategic energy plan, energy action plan, or integrated resource plan; and,
  2. whether there is a projected energy cost savings to end-users.

All applications should be submitted through either or - where the EIC grant is listed under the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) number 15.875. For detailed instructions, visit

For more information about the Office of Insular Affairs visit

The Assistant Secretary of Insular and International Affairs and the Office of Insular Affairs (OIA) carry out the Secretary of the Interior’s responsibilities for the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Additionally, OIA administers and oversees federal assistance under the Compacts of Free Association to the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau. OIA also administers a discretionary Technical Assistance Program for all the insular areas. Find information about OIA and its work on, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.


Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment