Secretary Salazar Announces New Members of Invasive Species Advisory Committee

Last edited 09/05/2019

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar has appointed six new members to the Invasive Species Advisory Committee, which provides advice and recommendations to the National Invasive Species Council.

Established by Executive Order in February 1999, the National Invasive Species Council is co-chaired by the Secretaries of the Interior, Agriculture and Commerce. Its members include the Secretaries of State, Defense, Transportation, Treasury, Health and Human Services and Homeland Security; and the Administrators of the U.S. Environmental Protection Administration, the National Air and Space Administration, U.S. Agency for International Development and the U.S. Trade Representative.

The members of the Invasive Species Advisory Committee include 29 individuals representing a broad ran

ge of stakeholders including scientific, conservation and agricultural groups; state and Tribal governments; and industry organizations that are impacted by invasive species. For more information, see

The members of the seventh convening Invasive Species Advisory Committee – including the six new members - are:

Peter Alpert, Ph.D.

University of Massachusetts
N. Marshall Meyers (New)

Pet Industry Joint Advisory Council
Patrick Burch (New)

Dow AgroSciences
Edward L. Mills, Ph.D. (Reappointed)

Cornell University
Earl Chilton, II, Ph.D.

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Stephen Phillips

Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission
Joseph DiTomaso, Ph.D. (Reappointed)

University of California, Davis
Jamie K. Reaser, Ph.D.

Congruence, LLC
Otto Doering, III, Ph.D. (Reappointed)

Purdue University
Kristina Serbesoff-King

The Nature Conservancy
Susan Ellis (Reappointed)

California Department of Fish and Game
Celia Smith, Ph.D.

University of Hawaii
Amy Frankmann

Michigan Nursery and Landscape Association
David E. Starling, D.V. M. (Reappointed)

Aqueterinary Services, P.C.
Ann Gibbs

Maine Department of Agriculture

(Representing National Plant Board)
Nathan Stone, Ph.D. (Reappointed)

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Bonnie Harper-Lore (New)

Private Invasive Species Consultant
John Peter Thompson (New)

Maryland Nursery and Landscape Association
Scott Hendrick

National Conference of State Legislatures
John Torgan

Save the Bay
Phyllis Johnson

University of North Dakota
Robert Van Steenwick, Ph.D. (New)

University of California, Berkeley
Eric Lane

Colorado Department of Agriculture
Jennifer Vollmer, Ph.D.

CPS Timberland
Susan Kedzie (New)

Leech Lake Band Of Ojibwe
Damon E. Waitt, Ph.D. (Reappointed)

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

University of Texas at Austin
Timothy Male

Defenders of Wildlife
Robert H. Wiltshire (Reappointed)

Invasive Species Action Network

(Representing the Federation of Fly Fishers)
Robert McMahon

University of Texas at Arlington


Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment