DOINews: All DOI Employees: Recipients of the 2014 Environmental Achievement Awards

Last edited 09/05/2019

To: All Employees

From: Kristen J. Sarri, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary – Policy, Management and Budget

Subject: Recipient Announcement for the 2014 Department of the Interior Environmental Achievement Awards

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Department of the Interior Environmental Achievement Awards.

These Awards recognize departmental employees and partners who attained exceptional achievements under Executive Order 13514, "Federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance," and for cleaning up contaminated land. The Award categories are: Sustainability Hero; Green Innovation; Lean, Clean and Green; Good Neighbor; Green Dream Team; Building the Future; and Environmental Remediation.

An interdisciplinary panel of reviewers from the Department's bureaus and offices evaluated nominations to recommend Award recipients and honorable mentions. The panel is chaired by the Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance.

The 2014 Interior Environmental Achievement Award recipients are:


Mr. Craig Nibbe, Region 3 Chemical Exchange Program, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Minnesota

Mr. Dutch Story, Sustainability Hero, North Cascades National Park, National Park Service, Washington

Mr. Nathan Wilson, LEDs Brightly Shining on the Western Frontier, Fort Smith National Historic Site, National Park Service, Arkansas


BLM Sustainable Inspection Team Process, Bureau of Land Management, Washington, D.C.

Camp Garcia Renewable Energy System, Vieques National Wildlife Refuge, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Puerto Rico

High Performance Sustainable Visitor and Research Center at Mesa Verde National Park, Mesa Verde National Park, National Park Service, Colorado

International Dark Sky Park Designation: Saving Energy while Protecting Dark in the Park, Death Valley National Park,National Park Service, California

Ms. MaryAnn Amann and Mr. Carlton Morris: Lead in Soil Remediation at Midway Atoll National Wildlife Refuge, Midway Atoll National Wildlife Refuge, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service,Midway Atoll

NPS CERCLA Response Team, Palmerton Zinc Pile Superfund Site, National Park Service, Appalachian National Scenic Trail, Pennsylvania

USGS Great Lakes Science Center Wet Lab Upgrade, Great Lakes Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey, Michigan

For more information about the recipients and to see the honorable mentions, visit the Greening the Department of the Interior website at If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Jeffrey Molony, Environmental Awards Coordinator, at (202) 208-7554 or

Please join me in recognizing these outstanding recipients.

PDF of signed memo

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment