Federal Subsistence Board publishes final rule on nonrural determinations

Last edited 04/06/2016
Contact Information

Deborah Coble
(907) 786-3880

On Nov. 4, 2015, the Federal Subsistence Board published a direct final rule revising the list of nonrural areas in Alaska. Based on the Secretaries of Agriculture and the Interior review of the rural determination process, and the subsequent change in the regulations governing this process, the Board is revising the current nonrural determinations to the list that existed prior to 2007. Accordingly, the community of Saxman and the area of Prudhoe Bay will be removed from the nonrural list. The following areas continue to be nonrural, but their boundaries will return to their pre-2007 borders: the Kenai area; the Wasilla/Palmer area; the Homer area and the Ketchikan area. Only residents of areas that are rural are eligible to participate in the Federal Subsistence Management Program on public lands in Alaska.

This rule is effective on Dec.19, 2015 unless we receive significant adverse comments on or before Dec. 4, 2015. You may submit comments by one of the following methods:

·         Electronically: Go to the Federal eRulemaking Portal: www.regulations.gov and search for FWS–R7–SM–2015–0156, which is the docket number for this rulemaking.

·         By hard copy: U.S. mail or hand delivery to: USFWS, Office of Subsistence Management, 1011 East Tudor Road, MS 121, Attn: Theo Matuskowitz, Anchorage, AK 99503–6199.

Additional information on the Federal Subsistence Management Program can be found at www.doi.gov/subsistence.

PDF version

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment