What is ESF#11

Work being done at the Chalmette National Cemetery. Credit: NPSThe Federal Government’s capabilities are organized into Emergency Support Functions (ESFs) to facilitate and coordinate the Federal response. These ESFs are designed to address the most frequent needs of States, Tribes, Territories, and local communities after a major event. There are currently fifteen (15) ESFs. 

Emergency Support Function (ESF) #11 Agriculture and Natural Resources - is one of the fifteen ESFs that make up the National Response Framework (NRF). Federal response is coordinated through the ESFs after a Presidential Disaster Declaration is issued.

ESF #11 Agriculture and Natural Resources consists of five component areas:

  1. Provide nutritional assistance to affected areas
  2. Respond to animal and plant diseases 
  3. Ensure the safety and security of the commercial food supply 
  4. Provide for the safety and well-being of household pets 
  5. Protect natural and cultural resources, and historic properties (NCH)

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is the primary Agency for the first four components of ESF #11 and serves as the coordinating agency for the entire ESF, USDA is charged with providing managerial oversight throughout the preparedness and response phases of the incident. The United States Department of the Interior (DOI) is the primary agency for the fifth component - protection of natural and cultural resources and historic properties. USDA and DOI work together to ensure a coordinated and effective response to all emergencies.

Was this page helpful?