Information on the Dawes Rolls

The Dawes Commission was organized in 1893 to accept applications for tribal enrollment between 1899 and 1907 from American Indians of the Five Civilized Tribes who resided in the Indian Territory, which later became the eastern portion of Oklahoma. The Five Civilized Tribes consist of the Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, Seminole and Chickasaw Indians.

There are several places to get access to the Dawes rolls to see if your ancestor is listed, here are three locations.

National Archives & Records Administration
Southwest Region
P.O. Box 6216
Fort Worth, TX 76115
Phone: 817-334-5621

Oklahoma Historical Society
Archives and Manuscripts Division
2100 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-521-2491

Tulsa City-County Library
2901 S. Harvard
Tulsa, OK 74114
Phone: 918-746-5222
Genealogy resources
Dawes Rolls resources

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment