Public Listening Sessions


To find out more information for any of the following events, please send an email stating your interest by clicking HERE.

November 12, 2013

8:30 AM - 10:30 AM

Host Agency: Department of Transportation
Transit for Tribes and Safety of Roads

Speaker: John Porcari, Deputy Secretary

9:00 AM -11:00 AM

Host Agency: Council on Environmental Quality
Principles & Guidelines for Water Resources Development

Speaker: Nancy Sutley, Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality

9:30 AM -11:30 AM (at DOI, Rm. 5160)

Host Agency: Federal Emergency Management Agency
FEMA Tribal Consultation Policy and Stafford Act Amendments for Tribal Declarations

Speaker: Josh Batkin, FEMA Director of External Affairs

1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Host Agency: Environmental Protection Agency
Tribal Environmental Accomplishments and Challenges

Speaker: Gina McCarthy, Administrator

2:00 PM - 4:00 PM (at DOI, Rm. 5160)

Host Agency: Department of Defense
Consultation, Sacred Sites Access, Environmental Cleanup, Army Corps of Engineers, Energy Procurement


  • A. Joseph (Joe) Sarcinella, Esq., Senior Advisor & Liaison for Native American Affairs, Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Georgeie Reynolds, PhD, Senior Tribal Liaison, United States Army Corps of Engineers
  • Sara Streff, Assistant Director, Renewable Energy, Facilities Energy & Privatization
  • James G. Van Ness, Acting Deputy General Counsel, (Environment & Installations)
  • Gerald F. (Fred) Pease Jr., Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force, Environment, Safety and Occupational Health
  • Maureen Sullivan, Director, Environment, Safety & Occupational Health, ODUSD(I&E)/ESOH (Tentative)

November 14, 2013

9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Host Agency: Department of Justice
Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) Tribal Consultation

Speakers: Associate Attorney General Tony West, Assistant Secretary Kevin Washburn

10:00 AM - 12:00 PM (at DOI, Rm. 5160)

Host Agencies: Department of the Interior, Department of Education
Bureau of Indian Education Study Group

Speaker: Assistant Secretary Kevin Washburn

11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Host Agency: Department of Agriculture
USDA 2013 American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage Cultural Exchange

Exhibits Booths:
  • Forest Service
  • Natural Resources and Conservation Service
  • Food and Nutrition Service
  • Food Safety and Inspection Service
  • Agricultural Research Service
  • Agricultural Marketing Service
  • Cultural Transformation and USDA Strike Force
  • Rural Development
  • Food Stations: Catered by The National American Indian Museum

11:30 AM - 2:00 PM (at DOI, 7200 corridor)

Host Agency: Department of the Interior
Cobell Settlement and Land Buy-Back Program

Speaker: John McClanahan, Director

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Host Agency: Office of National Drug Policy

Contact: Tamara Mayberry, Deputy Associate Director for Public Engagement,

Drug Use and its Consequences in Indian Country


  • Ben Tucker, ONDCP Deputy Director for State, Local, and Tribal Affairs
  • Michael Gottlieb, Director, High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Program
  • Helen Hernandez, Administrator, Drug Free Communities (DFC) Grant Program
  • Patrick Schmidt, Policy Advisor

2:00 PM - 4:00 PM (at DOI, Rm. 5160)

Host Agencies: Department of the Interior, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, Department of Defense
Indian Sacred Sites

  • Chairman Donaldson (ACHP)
  • Elizabeth Klein (DOI)
  • Butch Blazer (USDA)
  • Maureen Sullivan (DoD)

Was this page helpful?