OIA Announces $82.5 Million in Compact Funding to Help Strengthen Federated States of Micronesia Communities

Last edited 09/06/2022
Contact Information

Contact: Tanya_Joshua@ios.doi.gov


WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of the Interior’s Office of Insular Affairs (OIA) today announced that Assistant Secretary for Insular and International Affairs Carmen G. Cantor has been appointed the new Chair of the Joint Economic Management Committee (JEMCO). As Chair, Assistant Secretary Cantor convened the JEMCO for their annual meeting on August 30, 2022. At the conclusion of the meeting, JEMCO allocated $82,538,423 in Compact of Free Association (Compact) Section 211 grant assistance for fiscal year (FY) 2023 for the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM).

“Funding through the Compacts of Free Association has provided important, reliable support for both the health and education sectors in the FSM, just as the Compacts themselves have provided a solid foundation for democratic governance, peace and security in the larger Indo-Pacific region,” said Assistant Secretary Cantor. “I am honored to serve as the JEMCO Chair, as we continue to move forward the important partnership between the Micronesian and the American people.”

The FY2023 Compact of Free Association Section 211 grant assistance for the Federated States of Micronesia was allocated for government operations and infrastructure as follows:

$   28,290,115 Education

$   25,372,332 Health

$   24,983,712 Infrastructure

$     1,636,282 Enhanced Reporting and Accountability

$     1,382,982 Public Sector Capacity Building

$        797,000 Environment
$          76,000 Private Sector Development
$   82,538,423 Compact of Free Association Section 211 Grant Assistance

The JEMCO further authorized the infrastructure sector assistance for the design, engineering and construction of the Tonoas and Uman Health Centers in Chuuk State.

On August 29, 2022, Secretary Deb Haaland appointed Assistant Secretary Cantor to serve as Chair of the JEMCO with the Federated States of Micronesia. As provided for under the Compact of Free Association, as amended, (P.L. 108-188), the JEMCO is a bilateral committee consisting of officials from the Governments of the United States and the Federated States of Micronesia who are responsible for strengthening management and accountability regarding assistance provided under the Compact, as amended, and to promote the effective use of funding provided.

The JEMCO comprises the following five members: Chair Carmen G. Cantor (U.S. Department of the Interior); Mr. Lorin Robert (FSM President’s Office); Mr. Leo A. Falcam (FSM Chief Compact Negotiator); Dr. Richard Brostrom (U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention); and Mr. Taylor Ruggles (U.S. State Department).

Certain provisions of the Compact of Free Association agreement between the Federated States of Micronesia and the United States are set to expire in 2023. Negotiations between the two governments are ongoing.

The Assistant Secretary for Insular and International Affairs and the Office of Insular Affairs (OIA) carry out the Secretary of the Interior’s responsibilities for the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Additionally, OIA administers and oversees federal assistance under the Compacts of Free Association to the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau. OIA also administers a discretionary Technical Assistance Program for all the insular areas. Find information about OIA and its work on www.doi.gov/oia, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment