Interior Applauds the Census Bureau for Opening Offices in the U.S. Territories to Conduct the 2020 Census

Last edited 11/30/2020
Contact Information

Tanya Harris Joshua 202-208-6008

WASHINGTON - U.S. Department of the Interior Assistant Secretary, Insular and International Affairs, Doug Domenech congratulated the U.S. Census Bureau (Census) for recently opening  census offices in American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), and the U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI) – St. Croix and St. Thomas. Census has been working closely with the governors of each territory in preparation for the upcoming 2020 Island Areas Censuses.

“I am pleased that the U.S. Census Bureau has taken this positive, proactive stance to support and strengthen the 2020 Census operation for the U.S. territories,” said Assistant Secretary Domenech. “We believe that Census’ close work with each of the territories will ensure accurate, and timely results for our fellow Americans in the territories. I look forward to robust results and encourage all to be counted in the upcoming 2020 Census.”

“The Census Bureau is committed to a high quality census in the Island Areas. The successful opening of the five Island Areas census offices demonstrates our commitment to ensure that the census is accurate, timely, and meaningful for the Island Areas,” said Dr. Jennifer Kim, Assistant Division Chief, Census Bureau, overseeing the 2020 Island Areas Censuses.

The United States Constitution mandates that a census of the nation’s population be taken every 10 years. Title 13 of the U.S. Code authorizes the Secretary of Commerce (delegated to the Director of the U.S. Census Bureau) to undertake the decennial census. The geographic scope of the decennial census is specified in Title 13 U.S.C., Section 191 as covering the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and “as may be determined by the Secretary, such other possessions and areas over which the United States exercises jurisdiction, control, or sovereignty.” Operating under the latter authority of the Secretary, Census included an office for American Samoa.

The 2020 Island Areas Censuses will collect demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics of American Samoa, Guam, the CNMI, and the USVI. Census has worked closely with each of the territory governments to finalize the content of the questions and to provide the maximum public utility with minimum individual burden. The 2020 Census subjects were submitted to Congress in March 2017 and the 2020 Census questions were submitted to Congress in March 2018 with correspondences sent to the Congressional delegates of each territory.

Outreach efforts by the Census Offices to encourage participation in each territory will begin in early 2020. For general information on the upcoming 2020 Census, please visit For information in the territories, reach out to your local Census office in each territory:

American Samoa (Census Advisor: Jason Kopp)
Lumana’i Building, 2nd Floor
Pago Pago, American Samoa, 96799

CNMI (Census Advisor: Colleen Joyce)
Ladera Building, 3rd Floor
Beach Road
Chalan Lau Lau, Saipan, MP, 96950

Guam (Census Advisor: Terrina Long)
Century Plaza, 2nd Floor
219 S. Marine Corps Drive
Tamuning, Guam, 96913

USVI – St. Croix (Census Advisor: Tomas Encarnacion)
Plot No. 35 & 35A Castle Coakley
Building No. 1, 2nd Floor East
Christiansted, USVI, 00820

USVI – St. Thomas (Census Advisor: Daniel Doyle)
8666 Lindberg Bay, 2nd Floor   
Charlotte Amalie
St. Thomas, USVI, 00802

The Assistant Secretary, Insular and International Affairs, and the Office of Insular Affairs carry out the Secretary of the Interior’s responsibilities for the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Additionally, OIA administers and oversees Federal assistance under the Compacts of Free Association to the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.


Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment