Interior Department Appoints 17 Members to National Geospatial Advisory Committee

Last edited 09/29/2021

WASHINGTON, DC – Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell has appointed 17 new and continuing members to the National Geospatial Advisory Committee (NGAC). The advisory committee provides recommendations on geospatial policy and management issues to the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), the interagency executive group responsible for providing leadership and direction in federal geospatial programs.

The NGAC also reviews and comments on geospatial policy and management issues, and provides a forum for conveying the views of non-federal representatives in the geospatial community. The integration of the massive amounts of data maintained by federal agencies into its geospatial context provides invaluable insights that support better decision-making throughout the government and better information to the American public.

"We are honored to have these distinguished geospatial professionals as new and continuing members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee,” said Anne Castle, Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Water and Science, who serves as Chair of the FGDC. “The NGAC has been a valuable resource and an excellent partner for the Federal geospatial community, and has provided excellent advice and recommendations on a wide range of critical geospatial policy and management issues. Effective and innovative use of geospatial information is essential for Federal agencies and we look forward to continuing our collaboration with this dynamic and accomplished set of leaders.”

The NGAC includes up to 30 members, selected to achieve a balanced representation of the varied interests associated with geospatial programs and technology. NGAC members are appointed to serve staggered terms on the committee. The appointees to three-year terms on the NGAC are:

Mr. Dan Cotter, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Ms. Patricia Cummens, Esri

Mr. Steve Emanuel, State of New Jersey

Prof. Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz, University of Mississippi (reappointed to a second term)

Mr. Bert Granberg, State of Utah (reappointed to a second term)

Mr. Jack Hild, DigitalGlobe, Inc.

Mr. Jeff Lovin, Woolpert, Inc.

Mr. Keith Masback, U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation

Mr. Kevin Pomfret, Centre for Spatial Law and Policy

Major General William N. Reddel III, New Hampshire National Guard

Mr. Anthony Spicci, State of Missouri (reappointed to a second term)

Ms. Julie Sweetkind-Singer, Stanford University

Mr. Gary Thompson, State of North Carolina (reappointed to a second term)

Dr. Harvey Thorleifson, Minnesota Geological Survey

Ms. Molly Vogt, Oregon Metro (reappointed to a second term)

Mr. Jason Warzinik, Boone County, Missouri

Mr. David Wyatt, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians (reappointed to a second term)

The NGAC meets three to four times per year. The public is invited to comment and make suggestions at all committee meetings, which will be announced by publication in the Federal Register at least 15 days before the meeting date. The U.S. Geological Survey, a bureau of the Department of the Interior, provides support services for the NGAC. The NGAC functions solely as an advisory body.

The NGAC was created under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, enacted by Congress in 1972 to ensure that advice rendered to the executive branch by advisory committees, task forces, boards, and commissions formed by Congress and the President, be both objective and accessible to the public. The Act formalized a process for establishing, operating, overseeing, and terminating these advisory bodies.

Additional information about the NGAC, including a complete list of the committee members, is available at

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment