Secretary Salazar Presents Bayhorse Mining District Cooperative Conservation Project with Partners in Conservation Award

Last edited 09/29/2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar today presented a Partners in Conservation Award to the “Bayhorse Mining District Cooperative Conservation with Partners” Project for their work at the Bayhorse Mining District in Idaho.

It was one of 26 national awards to individuals and organizations presented at a ceremony at Interior headquarters in Washington, D.C. to honor “those who achieve natural resource goals in collaboration and partnership with others.”

The 26 Partners in Conservation Awards recognize conservation achievements resulting from the cooperation and participation of a total of 600 individuals and organizations including landowners; citizens' groups; private sector and nongovernmental organizations; and federal, state, local, and/or tribal governments.

“The Partners in Conservation Awards demonstrate that our greatest conservation legacies often emerge when stakeholders, agencies, and citizens from a wide range of backgrounds come together to address shared challenges,” the Secretary said. “The Bayhorse Mining District Cooperative Conservation Partnership has had countless projects that have remediated mining-related hazards and environmentally affected areas, and they have provided a positive recreation experience for the general public.”

Since 2001, Bureau of Land Management personnel in the Idaho Falls District investigated 30 Abandoned Mine Lands (AML) sites on public lands in the Bayhorse Mining District. After a thorough investigation, they found 48 dangerous open mine workings and one easily accessible area of toxic tailings. After this investigation, 30 open mine workings were closed. The partnership has also constructed more than 11,000 feet of protective fence and put down 300 tons of asphalt to cap toxic slag. These efforts have made the Bayhorse Mining District a much safer place for visitors to enjoy.

“These 26 awards recognize the dedicated efforts of thousands of people from all walks of life, from across our nation– and from across our borders with Canada and Mexico,” Salazar noted. “They celebrate partnerships that conserve and restore our nation's treasured landscapes and watersheds, partnerships that engage Native American communities, and partnerships that engage youth.”

Bureau of Land Management

Eric Aiello

Keith Andrews

Phil Barbarick

Dick Buster

Jeff Christenson

Kristen Coons

Ken Gardner

Julia Gower

Erin Hanson

Carol Hearne

Andrew Hess

David Howell

Joe Kraayenbrink

Kevin Lloyd

Michaela Moen

Steve Moore

Carren Morgan

Charles Morton

Dana Perkins

Leigh Redick

Peggy Redick

Karen Rice

David Rosenkrance

Carl T. Seaburg

Kevin Storms

Jim Tarkalson

Ronald Tipton

Raymond Torrey

Tim Vanek
Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation

Jeff Cook

Rick Cummins

Kathleen Durfee

Jeff Egan

Troy Elmore

Chuck Felton

Steve Frost

Joni Hawley

Ernie Lombard

Bob Meinen

Rich Novotny

David Ricks

Gary Rucker

Dean Sangrey

Dan Smith

Garth Taylor

Chuck Wells
Idaho State Historic Preservation Office

Suzi Pengilly

Don Watts
TerraGraphics, Environmental Engineering, Inc.

Tom Bourque

Dereck Forseth

Ian VonLindern

Sarah Weppner

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment