DOINews: All DOI Employees: 70th Departmental Honor Awards Convocation

Last edited 09/05/2019

To: All Department of the Interior Employees

From: Mary Pletcher, DAS, Human Capital and Diversity

Subject: 70th Departmental Honor Awards

The 70th Departmental Honor Awards Convocation will be held May 7, 2015, at 2:30 p.m. in the Bison Bistro at the Stewart Lee Udall Department of the Interior Building (Main Interior). All employees in the Washington, D.C., Metro Area are encouraged to attend to honor DOI employees who will receive the highest awards given by the Department. In addition, the ceremony will be live-streamed on the DOI website starting at 2:30 p.m. ET, May 7, 2015, at:

The awards to be presented are:

  • Safety and Health Award of Excellence
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Citizen's Award for Bravery
  • Valor Award

Any questions regarding the ceremony should be directed to your servicing Human Resources Office.

The following individuals will be honored at this year's Convocation:

Safety and Health Award of Excellence

Recognizes individuals or groups of DOI employees who have performed outstanding services for or made contributions of unusual value to the occupational health and safety of DOI employees, visitors, and volunteers.

Bureau of Land Management

Thomas Bryant

William Bush

Arthur Ferraro

Kathy Greer

Michael Pearson

Calvin "Earl" Russell

Curtis Smith

Wendy Warren

Jon Young

Office of Facilities & Administrative Services/Office of Surface Mining, Reclamation & Enforcement

Maurice Banks

Aurelia Bewaji

Cynthia Bindocci

Stephen D'Antoni

Barbara Hayden

Saundra Jackson

U.S. Geological Survey

Fred A. Bailey

Craig L. Bowers

Rodney R. Caldwell

Distinguished Service Award

DOI's highest honorary recognition is presented to employees for outstanding contributions made during an eminent career in DOI or exceptional contributions to public service.

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Harry Akers, Jr.

Maureen A. Bornholdt

David W. Cooke

Dennis K. Thurston

Bureau of Land Management

Nancy E. Dean

Glenn W. Harris

Joan B. Losacco

Christopher F. M. Muller

Michael D. Nedd

Bureau of Reclamation

David G. Murillo*

U.S. Geological Survey

Mark L. DeMulder

Alfred L. Gardner

James R. Hein

James E. Hines

James D. Jacobi*

Rama K. Kotra

David A. Lockner

Peter T. Lyttle

James D. Nichols

David H. Oppenheimer

James E. Putnam*

Kenneth L. Tanaka

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Toni M. Deery

Kenneth L. Granneman

Renne R. Lohoefener

Office of the Secretary

Robert N. Smith*

Gary L. Van Horn

Office of the Solicitor

Priscilla A. Wilfahrt*

Citizen's Award for Bravery

Given to private citizens for heroic acts or unusual bravery in the face of danger. Recipients have risked their lives to save the lives of Department of the Interior employees or the lives of other individuals while on property owned by or entrusted to DOI.

Nominated by the National Park Service

Michael Hogrefe

Solomon Teneyck

Valor Award

Presented to employees who have demonstrated unusual courage involving a high degree of personal risk in the face of danger (may or may not be related to official duties).

Bureau of Land Management

Camas J. Beames

Jonathan R. Brewer

Dylan R. Forrester

Justin L. Hanley

Eric J. Killoy

Patrick J. Kollodge

Makenzie R. Tiegs

Tyler S. Webb

National Park Service

Stephen A. Baxter

Eric K. Cole

Thomas A. Hall

Carl E. Hiott

Matthew L. Hudson

Michael L. Lukens

Mark B. Mason

Joshua K. McCoy

Kean Mihata

Brett F. Painter

Larry V. Roberts

Kevin A. Strumer

Arthur Thomas

Matthew Werner

Andrew W. Wong

*Award Previously Presented

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment