# Tribal Energy Subcommittee Tuesday, September 25th, 2018 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM EST Meeting Summary

# Agenda

- Welcome and Roll Call
- DOI Update
- Follow-Up: RPC Meeting
- TERA Working Group Update
- Model Statute Working Group Update
- 1938 Act Working Group Update
- Taxation Working Group Update
- Additional Items and Adjourn

# **DOI Update:**

- The RPC meeting summary will be available within the next few weeks.
- If this meeting time does not work for the subcommittee, then we can revisit it. RPC staff will send a Doodle Poll in the coming days to determine alternate times.

#### **TERA Working Group Update**

- Jim is waiting for information from DC regarding the TERA primer and the definition of inherently federal functions.
- In the meantime, a workgroup has formed to provide review and input on the primer. The official workgroup consists of Bidtah Becker, Natasha John, Monte Mills, and Councilman Adam Red. Additionally, Tom Shipps and Pilar Thomas (both attorneys) will provide some assistance.
- If anyone else is interested in joining the workgroup, please send an email to the group.

#### **Model Statute Working Group**

• No update at this time.

## 1938 Act Working Group

• Interested in looking at and incorporating the work of the TERA Working Group. The efforts that they are making will be a catalyst for work on the 1938 Act.

# **Taxation Working Group**

- Had a good conversation with new AS-IA Tara Sweeney.
- Scott Angelle talked with group at the sector meeting. He indicated that he will reach out to Tara regarding next steps for the working group. Either he or Scott will update the group.

## Other Items and Next Steps

• Look for the Doodle Poll regarding a different time for the bi-weekly call.

# **Attendees:**

President Russell Begaye, Navajo Nation, Subcommittee Co-Director Bidtah Becker, Navajo Nation
Jackson Brossy, Navajo Nation
Tim LaPointe, BIA
Cynthia Monteau, MHA Nation
Dr. Steve Payson, DOI/IEED
Councilman Adam Red, Southern Ute
James Schindler, DOI/BOEM, RPC Executive Director
Yvette Smith, ONRR
Councilman Everett Waller, Osage
Roger White Owl, MHA Nation
Deirdre McCarthy Gallagher, Facilitator