

State of Annisiana office of the Governor Batan Rauge 70804-6004

POST OFFICE BOX 94004
(504) 342-7015

August 20, 1992

The Honorable George H. W. Bush President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Bush:

This letter is to inform you of a revision to the natural resource damage assessment process for the State of Louisiana. On April 23, 1991, the Louisiana Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act (OSPRA) which created the Office of the Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator within the Governor's Office was signed into law. Pursuant to this law, the Coordinator shall establish the amount of natural resource damages caused by an oil spill in conjunction with the state-designated natural resource trustees.

Section 1006 of the federal Oil Pollution Act of 1990 states that "the Governor of each state shall designate state and local officials who may act on behalf of the public as trustee for natural resources under the Act and shall notify the President of the designation." Based on the legislative mandate of the OSPRA, I have designated the Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator, Mr. Roland J. Guidry, as the principal state official for the assessment and restoration of damages to natural resources pursuant to the Oil Pollution Act of 1990.

The Department of Environmental Quality will act as the lead trustee agency for the recovery of all other natural resource damages. The Departments of Wildlife and Fisherles and Natural Resources are also designated as co-trustees for the recovery of damages to and the restoration of the natural resources under their respective jurisdictions.

We are confident the state will continue to have a consensus position as represented by these agencies. The designation of the Louisiana OII Spill Coordinator as the lead trustee for oil spill events is important and is based on his

President Bush Page 2 August 20, 1992

responsibility for response, prevention and damage assessment Issues u Louisiana OII Spill Prevention and Response Act and the federal OII Pollu

Sincerely,

awin W. Eawards

Governor

c: Rear Admiral James C. Card 8th District, U.S. Coast Guard

B. J. Wynne, Administrator, Region VI U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

The Honorable Manuel Lujan, Jr. Secretary, U.S. Dept. of Interior

Dr. John Knauss, Administrator U.S. Dept. of Commerce, NOAA