U.S. Department of the InteriorDOI News Header

Office of the Secretary
July 29, 2008

Contact: Chris Paolino, (202) 208-6416
Dave Smith, (202) 208-3985


Secretary Kempthorne Announces New Energy Initiative for the Outer Continental Shelf

Washington, DC - On Wednesday, July 30, 2008, Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne will announce a new energy initiative for the U.S. Outer Continental Shelf -- a process that will include full public involvement and multiple environmental reviews.

Kempthorne will make the announcement in a news media teleconference beginning at 2 p.m. Eastern Daylight Savings Time, followed by a media availability. He will be joined by Randall Luthi, Director of Interior's Minerals Management Service.

Who: Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne
Randall Luthi, Director of the Minerals Management Service
What: Announcement of an energy initiative for the Outer Continental Shelf
When: Wednesday, July 30, 2008: 2 p.m. Eastern Daylight Savings Time; 1 p.m. Central Daylight Savings Time; 12-Noon Mountain Daylight Savings Time; and 11 a.m. Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Media: All credentialed news media are invited to participate.
Conference Call: News media representatives wishing to participate in the teleconference should dial 800-857-9037 and use the passcode 8108388. Please provide your name and affiliation to the conference moderator.
Interviews: To schedule TV interviews with Secretary Kempthorne or MMS Director Luthi, media should call Frank Quimby at (202) 208-6416.


— DOI —