U.S. Department of the InteriorDOI News Header

Office of the Secretary
January 30, 2008

Contact: Frank Quimby
(202) 208-7291


Secretary Kempthorne to Discuss President Bush's Proposed Fiscal Year 2009 Budget for Interior

WASHINGTON - On Monday, Feb. 4, 2008, Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne will discuss the administration's proposed FY 2009 budget for the Department of the Interior at a 1 p.m. EST briefing in the Sidney R. Yates Auditorium of the Main Interior Building.

Secretary Kempthorne will provide an overview of the budget and highlight major initiatives. Deputy Secretary Lynn Scarlett will discuss Interior’s other key priorities in FY 2009. A news media availability will follow the presentation.

Associate Deputy Secretary Jim Cason, assistant secretaries and bureau representatives also will be available for questions. Detailed information on specific programs and projects can be obtained from departmental and bureau representatives in the auditorium after the presentation. The conference will be broadcast live by satellite with closed-circuit captioning. A “listen-only” phone bridge also is available.

After the presentation, copies of Interior’s Budget in Brief and departmental and bureau news releases will be available and posted to Department and bureau websites; a DVD and transcript of the news conference will be available on Tuesday.

News media representatives in the Washington, D.C., area should enter the C Street entrance of the Main Interior Building, present photo identification at the entrance to the auditorium and sign in at the media information desk. All video and other recording equipment will have to be examined by security personnel. Those who need to set up equipment should arrive early.

Who: Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne
Deputy Secretary Lynn Scarlett
What: News Conference on FY 2009 Budget for the Department of the Interior
When: Monday, Feb. 4, 2008 at 1 p.m. EST
Where: Main Interior Building, 1849 C Street, N.W., Washington, D.C., 20240
Satellite: C-Band; Galaxy 16 (G 16)); 99 Degrees West; Transponder: 10; Polarity: Vertical; Downlink Frequency: 3900 MHZ; Test Signal: 12:45 p.m. to 1 p.m. EST; Program Time: 1 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. EST
Phone Bridge: Listen Only: The toll-free call-in number is (888) 730-9134. The passcode (5182459) is required to join the call.
Technical Questions or Problems: For technical problems on the day of the broadcast, call 202-208-4858. For technical information before the broadcast, contact Roger Daniel at (202) 437-4112; fax: (202) 208-4850; e-mail: Roger_L_Daniel@nbc.gov or J_Mike_Mason@nbc.gov
Office of Communications Main Number: (202) 208-6416

Time Zone Reference:  

City Test Signal Program Starts Program Ends
Alaska Standard Time 8:45 am 9:00 am 10:45 am
Pacific Standard Time 9:45 am 10:00 am 11:45 am
Mountain Standard Time 10:45 am 11:00 am 12:45 pm
Central Standard Time 11:45 am 12:00 Noon 1:45 pm
Eastern Standard Time 12:45 pm 1:00 pm 2:45 pm
— DOI —