U.S. Department of the InteriorDOI News Header
Office of the Secretary
Nov. 2, 2006
Lori Williams, 202-354-1881

Secretary Kempthorne Announces New Members
of the Invasive Species Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Interior Secretary Dirk Kempthorne today announced the new members of the Invasive Species Advisory Committee (ISAC) who will provide advice and recommendations to the National Invasive Species Council (NISC).

NISC was established by Executive Order 13112 in February 1999 and is co-chaired by the secretaries of the Interior, Agriculture and Commerce. Its members include the secretaries of State, Defense, Transportation, Treasury, Health and Human Services, and Homeland Security and the administrators of the U.S. Environmental Protection Administration, the National Air and Space Administration, U.S. Agency for International Development and the U.S. Trade Representative.

ISAC is made up of 30 individuals representing a broad range of stakeholders including those in the scientific, conservation, agriculture communities, state and tribal governments and industry organizations that are impacted by invasive species.

During his tenure as governor of Idaho, Secretary Kempthorne was a member of the first ISAC class, appointed by former Interior Secretary Bruce Babbitt in 1999.

The members of the fourth convening ISAC are:

Peter Alpert, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts

K. George Beck, Ph.D.
Colorado State University

Gary M Beil, Ph.D.
Minnesota Crop Improvement Assn.

E. Shippen Bright
Maine Lakes Conservancy Institute

Patricia Bright, DVM
Wildlife Center of Virginia

David Brunner
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Timothy Carlson
Tamarisk Coalition

Earl Chilton, II, Ph.D.
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Janet Clark
Montana State University

Diane Cooper
Taylor Shellfish Farms

Joseph Corn, Ph.D.
University of Georgia

Lucius Eldredge, Ph.D.
Bishop Museum

Miles Falck
Great Lakes Indian Fish and
Wildlife Commission

Christopher Fisher
Colville Confederated Tribes

Amy Frankmann
Michigan Nursery and Landscape Assn.

Ann Gibbs
Maine Department of Agriculture
(Representing National Plant Board)

Catherine L. Hazlewood, Esq.
The Nature Conservancy

Jerome Jackson, Ph.D.
Florida Gulf Coast University

John Kennedy
Wyoming Game and Fish Department
(Representing the Assn. of Fish and
Wildlife Agencies)

Celia Smith, Ph.D.
University of Hawaii

Marilyn B. Leland
Prince William Sound Regional Citizens’ Advisory Council

Ronald R. Lukens
Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission

Charles R. O’Neill, Ph.D.
New York Sea Grant

Robert McMahon, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Arlington

Jamie K. Reaser, Ph.D.
Pet Industry Joint Advisory Council

Jeffrey D. Schardt
Florida Department of Environment Protection

Jeffrey Stone, Ph.D.
Oregon State University

John Peter Thompson
The Behnke Nurseries Company

Jennifer Vollmer, Ph.D.
BASF Corporation

Kenneth Zimmerman
Lone Tree Cattle Company

— DOI —