Department of the Interior

Preserve America logo

For Immediate Release:
March 9, 2006
Bruce Milhans
202-606-8513 / cell 202-550-7165

Mrs. Laura Bush Announces First Preserve America
Grant Recipients, Neighborhoods

WASHINGTON, DC— In a ceremony held on Capitol Hill today, Mrs. Laura Bush, First Lady of the United States and Honorary Chair of Preserve America, announced the first round of Preserve America Grants totaling nearly $3.5 million and acknowledged a number of new Preserve America Communities, including the first five Preserve America Community Neighborhood designations.

Historic preservation has an important place in America. Preserve America promotes education, historic preservation and economic development while encouraging a greater appreciation of our national treasures—from monuments and buildings to landscapes and main streets. President Bush and I want every American, especially our children, to discover and learn about our nation’s heritage,” Mrs. Bush said.

Mrs. Bush congratulated the first 45 recipients of Preserve America Grants (see attached list). The first round of Preserve America grants provided $3.5 million for projects in 28 states representing all regions of the country. This new program provides funds on a matching basis to assist Preserve America communities with marketing, planning, and educational efforts associated with protection and appropriate use of community heritage. She also announced a deadline of May 15 for the second round of grant funding totaling $1.5 million.

Today’s event recognized the first five Preserve America Community Neighborhood designations. They included The District, the Nashville, Tennessee neighborhood in which Mrs. Bush first unveiled the Neighborhoods program in July 2005. The other four neighborhoods designated are: Bell Court and Gratz Park, both in Lexington, Kentucky; Historic Portland, in Louisville, Kentucky; and Irvington, in Indianapolis, Indiana. Also recognized today were 14 recent additions to the Preserve America Community roster. Two communities, Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, and Wall Township, New Jersey, are from states that formerly contained no designated communities. The other 12 communities recognized were (alphabetically, by state): Dumas, Arizona; Redlands, California; Russellville, Kentucky; Wabasha, Minnesota; Vicksburg, Mississippi;
Independence, Missouri; Red Lodge and Terry, Montana; Hidalgo, Texas; Toole County, Utah; Skykomish, Washington; and Mannington, West Virginia.

The event, held in the Caucus Room of the Cannon House Office Building on Capitol Hill, was hosted by the Congressional Historic Preservation Caucus, whose co-chairs are Rep. Michael Turner of Ohio and Rep. Brad Miller of North Carolina. Secretary of the Interior, Gale Norton and Chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation and Co-Chair of the Preserve America Steering Committee, John L. Nau, III accompanied Mrs. Bush at the event. The Department of the Interior and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation are two of the Federal agencies that partner with the White House on the Preserve America initiative.