Department Of Interior

DOI News Header
Office of the Secretary
Dana Black,202-208-6416
For Immediate Release:March 18, 2004
Aimee Mikolajek, 202-208-3445
Twenty Communities Recognized for Commitment to Historical Preservation

WASHINGTON - Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Policy, Management and Budget Lynn Scarlett joined the Historic Caucus of the U.S. House of Representatives and Preserve America today to announce the designation of 20 new Preserve America Communities.

"I am delighted to join Preserve America to advance the protection, enhancement and contemporary use of these communities and historic properties," Scarlett said. "This unique partnership builds momentum for preserving and protecting our natural and historic legacy."

Assistant Secretary Scarlett was joined today by Reps. Brad Miller and Michael Turner, co-chairs of the Historic Preservation Caucus, and
John L. Nau III, chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation.

The 20 communities are being recognized for their dedication to protecting and celebrating their heritage. The communities receiving the Preserve America Community designation today are listed below:

Arizona White Mountain Apache Tribe Montana Virginia City
California Fresno Rhode Island Bristol
Florida Fort Myers
Illinois Rock Island Warren
Michigan Douglas Tennessee Franklin
Grand Rapids Vermont Burlington
Saugatuck Virginia Smithfield
Mississippi Biloxi Williamsburg
Hattiesburg Wyoming Cheyenne
Port Gibson

Designation as a Preserve America Community provides national recognition for what communities have already achieved, while also serving as a way to enhance the contribution of heritage tourism to their economies. This unique designation indicates that the community is working to use its historical assets as a building block for the future.

Preserve America is a White House action developed in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation and the U.S. departments of Interior and Commerce to focus attention on the administration's efforts to preserve America's national heritage.

The first Preserve America Communities were announced on Jan. 15, 2004, by Mrs. Laura Bush, at which time eight cities received the designation. Preserve America was established in March 2003 to encourage and support community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of the nation's priceless cultural and natural heritage.

For additional information on Preserve America and each community's individual accomplishments, visit


Selected News Releases