Department Of Interior

DOI News Header
Contact: Carrie Moore
For Immediate Release:Feb. 5, 2004
Special Trustee Names Advisory Board Members

Special Trustee for American Indians Ross O. Swimmer today announced the membership of the 2004-2006 Special Trustee Advisory Board. The new members appointed to the board reflect a diverse membership, as directed by statute, and represent Tribal account holders, individual Indian money account holders and private trust management and investment expertise.

The nine members of the Advisory Board are as follows:

  • Honorable Bill Anoatubby, Governor of the Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma;
  • Mr. Bobby Brooks, Vice President and Trust Officer, Bank of Oklahoma;
  • Mr. David English, Fratcher Missouri Endowed Professor of Law, University of Missouri - Columbia;
  • Honorable Jim Gray, Chief of the Osage Nation in Oklahoma;
  • Mr. Edward Holland, President and CEO, Chota Capital Company, LLC and member of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma;
  • Honorable Fred Matt, Chairman of the Confederated Tribes of Salish-Kootenai of the Flathead Reservation in Montana;
  • Honorable Richard Milanovich, Chairman of the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians in California;
  • Mr. Loren "Bat" Pourier, Owner, Muddy Creek Oil and Gas, Inc., and member of the Oglala Sioux Tribe of South Dakota; and
  • Ms. Helen Sanders, Chairman, Allotees Association and Affiliated Tribes of the Quinault Reservation and member of the Quinault Indian Nation of Washington.

Secretary Norton applauded the selection of the new members. "These exceptional board members have the background and expertise necessary to provide solid advice and counsel to the Special Trustee as the Department embarks on the most significant Indian trust management reforms in history," Norton said.

Special Trustee Swimmer echoed the Secretary's comments, "The individuals serving on this Board will be invaluable in successfully achieving the trust reforms currently underway. The members of this Board have impressive credentials and a genuine desire to play an important role in reforming the management of Indian trust assets nationwide. I am looking forward to rolling up my sleeves and getting to work with these talented individuals."

The Advisory Board was created through the American Indian Trust Fund Management Reform Act of 1994 to provide advice to the Special Trustee on all matters within his jurisdiction. The composition of the board is detailed in the statute, and members serve a two year term. The Special Trustee oversees the Office of the Special Trustee for American Indians and is responsible for the oversight and coordination of the Department's efforts to reform its practices relating to the management and discharge of the Secretary's Indian trust responsibilities.

Brief bios of each board member may be obtained by calling OST at (202) 208-4866.


Selected News Releases