Department Of Interior

DOI News Header
Office of the Secretary
Contact: Rebecca Phipps
For Imediate Release: April 29, 2003

Interior Department Honors Best in
the Oil and Gas Industry

Annual Awards program recognizes industry excellence, outstanding
leadership, safety and achievements in pollution prevention

HOUSTON -- Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Land and Minerals Management Rebecca Watson and Director of the Interior's Minerals Management Service R.M. "Johnnie" Burton paid tribute to the best in the oil and natural gas and solid minerals industry today during the Minerals Management Service Industry Awards Program in Houston, Texas.

"We must balance the critical search for energy and mineral resources with the protection of the environment," Watson said. "This awards program recognizes the companies that not only meet our tough environmental regulations but exceed them. They set the standards for the future and help preserve and enhance the quality of life in meeting the nation's energy needs."
The Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA) is given to individuals that have worked closely with MMS to improve revenue collection and processes for offshore development. The International Leadership Award is given to individuals that promote offshore safety and provide invaluable assistance to MMS on safety and pollution prevention issues. The Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) recognizes outstanding safety and pollution prevention achievement by offshore oil and gas operators and contractors.

"We are pleased to recognize these companies and individuals for their professionalism, cooperation, and support for the MMS offshore and minerals revenue programs," said Burton. "They are excellent corporate citizens, and their dedication has been extremely beneficial for the MMS in its management of revenue collection and offshore development."
The Minerals Revenues Stewardship Award recognizes companies that demonstrate exceptional compliance with minerals revenues laws and federal financial requirements. The Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) is presented to the best of the best in industry that have demonstrated the highest commitment to safety, stewardship and resource management. This award is an honor given to an outstanding company for both offshore operating performance and fiscal responsibility.

The 2002 SAFE Award winners are as follows:
Exxon Mobil Corporation, Houston, Texas
Hunt Petroleum (AEC) Inc., Houston, Texas
ENSCO Offshore Company, Dallas, Texas
Island Operating Company, Houston, Texas

The 2002 Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award winners are as follows:
Conoco Inc., Houston, Texas
Red Willow Production Company, Durango, Mont.
Kennecott Energy Company, Gillette, Mont.

The 2002 SOAR Award winners are as follows:
Dominion Exploration & Production Inc., Houston, Texas

The 2002 CORLA winners are:
Steve Adamcik, El Paso Pipeline Group, Houston, Texas
Mike Bell and Terry James, Unocal Deepwater USA, Sugarland, Texas
Steve Brooks, Exxon Mobil Corporation, Houston, Texas
Mark Davis and Steven Whiteside, Shell Offshore Inc., Houston, Texas
David T. Deal, American Petroleum Institute, Washington, D.C.
Mike Faulise and Steve Smetana, Shell E&P Company, Houston, Texas
Donna M. Hurley, Exxon Mobil Production Company, Houston, Texas
Craig Landry, Ocean Energy Inc., Houston, Texas
Gerald (Gerry) Macey, EnCana Corporation, Houston, Texas
Mark Schindler, Lynx Enterprises Inc.
Ron McCaslin and Jeanne Smith, Devon Energy Corporation, Houston, Texas
Tammy Naron, Apache Corporation, Houston, Texas
Wanda June Parker, WJP Enterprises, Plano, Texas

Joseph Peschier, Island Operating Company Inc., Houston, Texas
James P. Ray, Ph.D., Shell Global Solutions (US) Inc., Houston, Texas
Brian Russo, Affiliated Computer Services, Inc.
Alexander Sas-Jaworsky II, SAS Industries, Katy, Texas
Larry Smith, Oil States Industries Inc., Houston, Texas
Maralene Spawn, Burlington Resources Oil and Gas Company LP, Houston, Texas

MMS recognized the winners of the 2002 MMS International Leadership award for promoting offshore safety:
Gunnar Berge, Magne Ognedal, Odd Bjerre Finestad, Norwegian Petroleum Directorate, Norway
Taf Powell, UK Health and Safety Executive, United Kingdom

MMS is honored to recognize companies and individuals that excel in their work, care about the environment and meet their fiscal responsibilities. The 2003 program marks the fourth year that MMS has held this industry-wide awards program and luncheon. The Safety Award for Excellence was initiated in 1983 and recognizes safe operations in the Outer Continental Shelf. The Secretary of the Interior established the Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award in 1987 to commend exceptional performance by companies that report production and pay royalties for federal and Indian minerals leases to the MMS. The current program, banquet and awards ceremony began in 1999.

More information can be found at


Selected Press Releases