OTR is comprised of two divisions.

Division of Records Management Policies, Procedures, and Training (DRMPPT)

DRMPPT is divided into three branches: Northern Field Support Services, Southern Field Support Services, and the Branch of Records Management Standards. The division is located with the Director's Office in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

DRMPPT Regional Records Liaisons (RRLs) are strategically located throughout the United States to provide records management services to tribes, Indian Affairs, and OST.

Division of Records Management Operations (DRMO)

DRMO is responsible for records management operations of the American Indian Records Repository (AIRR), which was established May 13, 2004, and is located in Lenexa, Kansas. Inactive federal records and tribal Indian fiduciary trust records are safeguarded and stored in AIRR.

DRMO is divided into three sections: Research, Indexing, and Litigation Support.