Responsibilities and Authorities

The Secretary of the Interior has administrative responsibility for coordinating federal policy in the territories of American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the responsibility to administer and oversee U.S. federal assistance provided to the Freely Associated States of the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau under the Compacts of Free Association. The Office of Insular Affairs executes these responsibilities on behalf of the Secretary.

Authorities of the Secretary of Interior:

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) — OIA's CFDA number is 15.875

Was this page helpful?

Please provide a comment