Secretary Salazar to Celebrate Historic U.S.-Mexico Water Agreement Signing

Media Availability and Teleconference Call


CORONADO, Calif.—On Tuesday, November 20, 2012, Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar will join Bureau of Reclamation Commissioner Michael L. Connor, officials from the International Boundary and Water Commission (IBWC) and leadership from the seven Colorado River Basin States' water organizations to celebrate the signing of Minute 319, a five-year agreement between the United States and Mexico designed to jointly address challenges in the Colorado River Basin.

The signing builds on Secretary Salazar's visit to Mexico City in December 2010, which resulted in the completion of the ‘Minute 318' water agreement and discussions between the United States and Mexico on a comprehensive long-term strategy regarding the management of the Colorado River.

WHO: Ken Salazar, U.S. Department of the Interior Secretary

Michael L. Connor, Bureau of Reclamation Commissioner

Edward Drusina, IBWC U.S. Commissioner

Roberto F. Salmon, IBWC Mexican Commissioner

Representatives, Colorado River Basin States' water organizations
WHAT: Media Availability/Teleconference on Minute 319 Signing
(Media unavailable to attend may call-in with the below information)
WHEN: Tuesday, November 20, 2012

1:00 p.m. PDT // 4:00 p.m. EDT – Signing Ceremony

2:30 p.m. PDT // 5:30 p.m. EDT – Media Availability/Teleconference
WHERE: Hotel Del Coronado

1500 Orange Avenue

Coronado, CA 92118
MEDIA: Media are invited to join the teleconference by dialing 1-888-995-9855 and providing the access code STANLEY.