The Emergency Management Council (EMC) is an advisory body, and provides the primary means for bureaus and offices to advise the Departmental Emergency Coordinator and to coordinate Department-wide emergency management policy and activities. The EMC is comprised of the Emergency Coordinators for each DOI bureau and office as designated within the Departmental Manual Part 900. This standing group has the responsibility for bureau/office coordination, prevention, preparedness, response, and recovery associated with disaster and emergency incidents, as well as supporting the National Response Plan (NRP) and associated Emergency Support Functions (ESFs). The EMC is chaired by the Departmental Emergency Coordinator who may appoint additional ad hoc members. The EMC meets monthly and may also be convened on an emergency basis for coordination of special activities or serious emergency incidents.

Members of the Emergency Management Council include the following:

Emergency Coordinator Bureau/Office Phone Number Email Address
Lisa Branum Departmental Emergency Coordinator (Acting)

202-208-5673

Lisa_Branum@ios.doi.gov
Steven (Sid) Caesar Bureau of Indian Affairs  202-208-3555 Steven.Caesar@bia.gov
Eric North Bureau of Indian Education 505 563-5118 eric.north@bie.edu
Rodney Walker Bureau of Land Management 202 912-7487 R1walker@blm.gov
Jade Sodell Bureau of Reclamation 303 445-2538 jsodell@usbr.gov
Tamara Richardson Bureau of Ocean Energy Management 202-208-3223 Tamara.Richardson@boem.gov
Terrina Harford Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement 703 787-1429 Terrina.Harford@bsee.gov
Fred Wetzel U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 703 358-2340 Fred_Wetzel@fws.gov
Roger Jones Interior Business Center 303 969-5202 Roger_L_Jones@ibc.doi.gov
Simeon Klebaner National Park Service 202 513-7093 Simeon_K_Klebaner@nps.gov
James Robison Office of Inspector General 703 487-5377 JAMES_ROBISON@DOIOIG.GOV
John Holmes Office of the Chief Information Officer 703 648-5520 John_F_Holmes@ios.doi.gov
Ryan Close Office of International Affairs 202 208-3004 ryan_close@ios.doi.gov
John Mills Office of Aviation Services 208 433-5072 John_Mills@nbc.gov
Joan Moody Office of Communications 202 208-3280 Joan_Moody@ios.doi.gov
Sheila Perry Office of Natural Resources Revenue 303-231-3610 Sheila.Perry@onrr.gov
Rod Bloms Office of Wildland Fire 208-334-1562 Rod_Bloms@ios.doi.gov
Kathryn Bender Office of Acquisition and Property Management 202 254-5563 Kathryn_L_Bender@ios.doi.gov
Ryan Sloan Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance 202 208-4642 Ryan_Sloan@ios.doi.gov
Melanie Navarro Office of Financial Management 202 208-6227 Melanie_Navarro@ios.doi.gov
Nicholas Chomycia Office of Human Resources 202 208-6107 Nicholas_Chomycia@ios.doi.gov
Bob Garbe Office of Occupational Safety and Health 303 236-7128 Robert_Garbe@ios.doi.gov
Marina Tinitali Office of Insular Areas 202 208-5920 Marina_Tinitali@ios.doi.gov
Jeffrey Waalkes Office of Law Enforcement and Security 202 208-6333 Jeff_Waalkes@ios.doi.gov
Kim Prendergast Office of Budget 202 208-6443 Kimberly_Prendergast@ios.doi.gov
Max Brown Office of Surface Mining 202 208-2652 mbrown2@osmre.gov
Leon Craig Office of the Special Trustee 202 208-6618 Leon_Craig@ost.doi.gov
Larry Emanuel Solicitor 202 208-1549 larry.emanuel@sol.doi.gov
Stephen Hammond U.S. Geological Survey 703 648-5033 sehammon@usgs.gov