DOINews: National Weather Center Director Appointed To Federal Climate Change Advisory Committee

Last edited 4/26/2016

Dr. Berrien Moore III, Director for the National Weather Center and University Director for the South Central Climate Science Center, was recently appointed as a member to the Advisory Committee on Climate Change and Natural Resource Science.

National Weather Center Director Appointed To Federal Climate Change Advisory Committee

NORMAN, OKLA. – National Weather Center Director Berrien Moore III has been appointed by Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell to a newly created federal advisory committee that will provide guidance about the Department's climate change adaptation science initiatives.

“Responding to climate change and its effects on our natural and cultural resources is an important priority for the nation,” said Jewell. “This committee embodies our commitment to working closely with our partners to strengthen our efforts to develop sound science that will help inform policymakers, land managers and the public in making important resource management decisions.”

The committee will provide guidance about the operations of the USGS National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center and the eight regional Department of the Interior Climate Science Centers, which are managed by the USGS.

The 25 committee members represent Interior and other federal agencies; tribal, state, and local governments; nongovernmental organizations; academic institutions; and the private sector.

Moore joined the National Weather Center as director in May 2010. He also serves as dean of the University of Oklahoma's College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences, the Chesapeake Energy Corporation Chair in Climate Studies, and vice president for Weather and Climate Programs. He has published extensively on the global carbon cycle, biogeochemistry, remote sensing and environmental policy. As a participant in the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and coordinating lead author of the concluding section of the panel's Third Assessment Report in 2001, Moore shared in the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the IPCC and former Vice President Al Gore for their work in advancing public understanding of global warming and its environmental consequences.

“The Climate Change Advisory Committee will play an important role in the Department's climate adaptation strategy by providing advice on critical issues such as science priorities, relations with key partners, ensuring scientific excellence and coordinating with other climate adaptation initiatives,” said Deputy Secretary of the Interior David J. Hayes.

Alternate members have been named and will attend when a principal member is unavailable. Paul Risser, chair and chief operating officer of University Research Cabinet at OU, will fill in for Moore as needed.

For more information about the DOI Climate Science Centers, visit

For more information about the USGS National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center visit:

For more information about the National Weather Center, visit