The South Central Climate Science Center (SC CSC), established in 2012, is part of a network of eight regional Climate Science Centers created to provide scientific information, tools, and techniques that managers and other parties interested in land, water, wildlife and cultural resources can use to anticipate, monitor, and adapt to climate change.

The SC CSC is hosted by the University of Oklahoma, in Norman, and is comprised of seven member institutions: the University of Oklahoma, Texas Tech University, Louisiana State University, the Chickasaw Nation, the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, and NOAA's Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Lab. In addition to the host and consortium institutions, the SC CSC also collaborates with USGS Centers, DOI Landscape Conservation Cooperatives and other important partner institutions. To learn more about the SC CSC university consortium, please visit the university consortium website.

The SC CSC consortium and partners provide expertise in climate science, ecology, impacts assessment, modeling, urban environments, and advanced information technology. This expertise is needed to deal with climate issues in the South Central Region, which has recently experienced substantial drought as well as increased wildfire severity. Changes in temperature and precipitation are predicted to have significant effects on streams, forests, and agricultural lands, in addition to the fish, wildlife, and human communities supported by these environments.

The current focus of the SC CSC consortium is on recruiting and training graduate students, conducting climate change and impacts research and developing climate science and climate change educational programs.

National coordination for the CSCs is provided by the U.S. Geological Survey's National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center.

SC CSC Resources for More Information:

physiographic map of SC CSC (from strategic plan)
Physiographic Divisions within the Boundary of the South Central Climate Science Center

(Image from the SC CSC Strategic Science Plan 2013-2018)