The North Central Climate Science Center (NC CSC) is designed to encourage, facilitate, and participate in cooperative action to address climate adaptation science needs across the entire North Central region. The NC CSC actively works with members of its University Consortium, regional USGS Centers, Landscape Conservation Cooperatives, a Joint Stakeholder Committee (together with the USDA Northern Plains Climate Hub), and other federal and state, public and private entities. Visit the NC CSC's university-led website to learn more.

University Consortium Members

University Name
Primary Contact
Alternate Contact(s)
Colorado State University (host institution)
Colorado School of Mines
Reed Maxwell
(rmaxwell@mines.edu)
 
University of Colorado-Boulder
Kristen Averyt
(
kristen.averyt@noaa.gov)
Eric Gordon
Iowa State University
Diane Debinski
(
debinski@iastate.edu)
 
Kansas State University
John Briggs
(
jbriggs1@ksu.edu)
John Blair
(
jblair@ksu.edu)
Montana State University
Cathy Whitlock
(
whitlock@montana.edu)
Todd Kipfer
(
tkipfer@montana.edu)
University of Montana
Steve Running
(
swr@ntsg.umt.edu)
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Bob Oglesby
(
roglesby2@unl.edu)
Clint Rowe
(
crowe1@unl.edu)
University of Wyoming
Bill Lauenroth
(
wlauenro@uwyo.edu)
Indy Burke
(
iburke@uwyo.edu)
Bart Geerts
(
geerts@uwyo.edu)
Jill Lovato
(
jillberg@uwyo.edu)

 

Joint Stakeholder Committee

 

Federally-charged climate teams in the north central domain are taking the lead on establishing a joint stakeholder committee that encompasses both the regional USDA Northern Plains Climate Hub and the DOI North Central Climate Science Center. This joint committee provides guidance, coordination, and collaboration to these two unique-but-complimentary entities and helps facilitate communication and awareness for federally-funded climate research. The creation of a joint stakeholder committee allows both the Climate Hub and the NC CSC to maximize communication, awareness, and coordination among federal agencies and reduce redundancy and stakeholder fatigue among its members.
Affiliation Name e-mail
USGS Regional Office Allison Shipp (Co-chair) aashipp@usgs.gov
Plains and Prairie Potholes LCC Rick Nelson
 
Richard_D_Nelson@fsw.gov
Great Northern LCC Sean Finn sean_finn@fws.gov
Great Plains LCC James Broska James_Broska@fws.gov
Southern Rockies LCC Kevin Johnson Kevin_M_Johnson@fws.gov
Fish and Wildlife Service Regional Office Steve Torbit Stephen_Torbit@fws.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Jennifer Beardsley jbeardsley@usbr.gov
Bureau of Indian Affairs Jarvis Gust jarvis.gust@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Katherine Kitchell kkitchell@blm.gov
National Park Service Tom Olliff tom_olliff@nps.gov
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Patrick Erger perger@usbr.gov
Federal Emergency Management Agency OPEN OPEN
DOE Western Area Power Administration OPEN OPEN
Environmental Protection Agency Region 7 Amy Shields shields.amy@epa.gov
Environmental Protection Agency Region 8 Laura Farris farris.laura@epa.gov
NOAA Regional Climate Services Doug Kluck doug.kluck@noaa.gov
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory Robert Webb robert.s.webb@noaa.gov
Tribal Representative Julia Sage jsage@poncatribe-ne.org
Tribal Representative Gary Collins redcloud@wyoming.com
USDA Agricultural Research Service Dana Blumenthal (Co-chair) Dana.Blumenthal@ars.usda.gov
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service Theresa Boyle
 
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service Rafael Guerrero Rafael.Guerrero@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Forest Service, Urban and Community Forest Dana Coelho dcoelho@fs.fed.us
U.S. Forest Service, National Agroforestry Center Michele Schoeneberger
 
mschoeneberger@fs.fed.us
USDA Farm Services Agency Aaron Krauter Aaron.Krauter@nd.usda.gov
USDA Risk Management Agency OPEN OPEN
USDA Rural Development OPEN OPEN
DOI North Central Climate Science Center (ex officio - Government Agency Implementation Lead) Jeff Morisette morisettej@usgs.gov
USDA Northern Plains Regional Climate Hub (ex officio - Government Agency Implementation Lead) Justin Derner Justin.Derner@ars.usda.gov
NOAA/University: Western Water Assessment RISA (ex officio - Research Community Liaison) Lisa Dilling lisa.dilling@colorado.edu
DOI/University: NC CSC Univeristy Consortium (ex officio - Research Community Liaison) Dennis Ojima Dennis.Ojima@colostate.edu
Climate Community: National Center for Atmospheric Research (ex officio - Research Community Liaison) Lawrence Buja southern@rap.ucar.edu

 

USGS Centers within the North Central Domain

 

USGS Center Name e-mail
Columbia Environmental Research Center Rip Shively (director)
Mark Wildhaber (lead contact)
rsshively@usgs.gov
mwildhaber@usgs.gov
Earth Resource Observation and Science Center Frank Kelly (director)
James Vogelman (lead contact)
fkelly@usgs.gov
vogel@usgs.gov
Fort Collins Science Center David Hamilton (director)
Cathy Thomas, Zach Bowen (lead contacts)
hamiltond@usgs.gov
ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov, bowenz@usgs.gov
Geology and Environmental Change Science Center Buddy Schweig (director) chweig@usgs.gov
Geosciences and Climate Change Science Center Thomas DiNardo (director)
Todd Haubaker (lead contact)
tpdinardo@usgs.gov
tjhawbaker@usgs.gov
Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center Robert Gleason (director)
Max Post van der Burg (lead contact)
rgleason@usgs.gov
maxpostvanderburg@usgs.gov
Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center Jeff Kershner (director)
Rick Sodja (lead contact)
jkershner@usgs.gov
sojda@usgs.gov
USGS National Research Program Don Campbell (Central Region Branch Chief)
Lauren Hay (lead contact)
dhcampbe@usgs.gov
lhay@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Colorado Susan Paschke spaschke@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Iowa Kevin Richards krichard@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Kansas Andrew Ziegler aziegler@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Minnesota James Stark stark@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Missouri Michael Slifer meslifer@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Montana John Kilpatrick jmkilpat@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Nebraska Robert Swanson rswanson@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, North Dakota Gregg Wiche glwiche@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, South Dakota Mark Anderson manders@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Wyoming David Mott dmott@usgs.gov
USGS Cooperative Research Units Kevin Whalen (CRU contact) kwhalen@usgs.gov