About the Climate Science Centers

The regional Department of the Interior Climate Science Centers (CSCs) partner with natural & cultural resource managers to provide science that helps fish, wildlife, ecosystems & the communities they support adapt to climate change.

The Climate Science Centers:

The CSCs were established within DOI by Secretarial Order No. 3289. National coordination and management for the CSCs is provided by the U.S. Geological Survey’s National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center.

Alaska CSC
Host: University of Alaska Fairbanks, Anchorage, AK
Federal AK CSC Website
Consortium AK CSC Website
Pacific Islands CSC
Host: University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, Honolulu, HI
Federal PI CSC Website
Consortium PI CSC Website
Consortium: University of Hawai'i - Hilo and University of Guam
North Central CSC
Host: Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO
Federal NC CSC Website
Consortium NC CSC Website
Consortium: Colorado School of Mines, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, Montana State University, University of Colorado, University of Montana, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, and University of Wyoming
South Central CSC
Host: University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK
Federal SC CSC Website
Consortium SC CSC Website
Consortium: Louisiana State University, The Chickasaw Nation, The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, NOAA's Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, and Texas Tech University
Ocean & Beach in Southeast USA
Southeast CSC
Host: North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC
Federal SE CSC Website
Consortium SE CSC Website
Tioughnioga River
Northeast CSC
Host: University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA
Federal NE CSC Website
Consortium NE CSC Website
Consortium: College of Menominee Nation, Columbia University, Marine Biological Laboratory, University of Minnesota, University of Missouri - Columbia, and University of Wisconsin – Madison
Southwest CSC
Host: University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
Federal SW CSC Website
Consortium SW CSC Website
Consortium: University of California - Davis,
University of California - Los Angeles, Desert Research Institute, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and University of Colorado – Boulder
Northwest CSC
Host: Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR
Federal NW CSC Website
Consortium NW CSC Website
Consortium: University of Washington and University of Idaho


Photos on page (left to right, top to bottom): 1) Matanuska Glacier, Alaska. Photo Credit: Dean Gesch, USGS; 2)  ; 3) ; 4) ; 5) Tioughnioga River. Photo Credit: Alex Demas; 6) Beach. Photo Credit: Fred Johnson, USGS; 7) Trout. Photo Credit: Jonny Armstrong, USGS; 8) ; 9) ;