Email Updates
Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.


Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.
Email Updates
Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.
U.S. Department of the Interior - Office of Wildland Fire
Click to toggle text size.

Project Management Organization

The Project Management Organization (PMO) is comprised of a Project Leader, Contracting Officers, Contracting Officer's Representatives, Steering Committee, Executive Advisory Group, and a Project Working Team. The Office of Wildland Fire and each of the four bureaus have representatives on each of the groups. Bureau of Reclamation (BOR) has a representative on most teams since they have protection responsibilities for their lands, and the U.S. Geological Survey is represented as a result of their role in fire science, GIS, and mapping.

The PMO is represented by the following individuals:

Project Leader

Jim Douglas is Senior Advisor to Deputy Assistant Secretary, Law Enforcement, Security, and Emergency Management (LESEM) Kim Thorsen. The Project Leader is the primary liaison with the contractor; supports/leads the Steering Committee and Executive Advisory Group; has ultimate responsibility for communications and outreach; and will interface with the Project Working Team lead.

Communications Advisor

Office of Wildland Fire (OWF), Christie Wiley  

Steering Committee  

The Steering Committee is responsible for strategic direction; identifying issues and questions; monitoring and providing project oversight; reviewing deliverables; evaluating alternatives; and accepting deliverables. Members include:

LESEM, Deputy Assistant Secretary - Kim Thorsen
BFPA, Deputy Assistant Secretary - Pam Haze
LESEM, Senior Advisor - Jim Douglas
Director of Management Initiatives and Transformation - Mary Pletcher
Forest Service Assistant Director Planning and Budget - Ronald Bertsch
Ex Officio Members
OWF, Working Team Lead - Vince Mazzier
OWF, Communications Advisor - Christie Wiley
OWF, CORs - Russ Berry and Jackie Corona
Acquisition Division (AQD), Contracting Officers - Anita Tolliver and Sarah Dolan  

Executive Advisory Group  

The Executive Advisory Group provides advice on direction and scope; monitors and provides oversight; reviews deliverables; facilitates acquisition of resources; and communicates with home organizations  

OWF - Kirk Rowdabaugh and Roy Johnson
Bureau of Land Management (BLM) - Tim Murphy
National Park Service (NPS) - Steve Shackelton and Louis Rowe
Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) - Jeff Rupert
Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) - Bryan Rice
Office of Aviation Safety (OAS) - Mark Bathrick
USDA Forest Service (FS) - Ron Bertsch
US Geological Survey (USGS) - Anne Kinsinger  

Project Working Team  

OWF - Working Team Lead Vince Mazzier
BLM - Grant Beebe
NPS - Tom Nichols
FWS - Fred Wetzel
BIA - Dave Koch
OAS - Stew Walker
USFS - Mark Lichtenstein
USGS - Martha Garcia and Matt Rollins
BOR - Greek Taylor