• Wendy Fink
    Counsel to the Assistant Secretary

  • Vacant
    Director of Policy

Office of Insular Affairs Main Telephone Line: (202) 208-4736

Policy Division

The Policy Division serves several functions as identified below:

  • Serves as OIA's liaison to the Congress, the four territorial and three freely associated state governments, other Federal agencies, the media and the public.

  • Oversees (a) the Compact of Free Association trust funds for the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia and (b) annual budgets for two Marshall Islands atoll governments (Bikini and Rongelap).

  • Advances the rehabilitation of four Marshall Islands atolls (Bikini, Enewetak, Rongelap and Utrik) and the resettlement of the peoples of the four atolls.

  • Carries out the Secretary's responsibilities as the civil administrator of the Palmyra Atoll Excluded Areas and, as appropriate, the residual civil administrator of Wake Atoll.

  • Maintains a field office in American Samoa.

  • Staff

    • Krystina Borja - American Samoa, Guam, Climate Change
    • Tanya Harris Joshua - Communications, Palau, Micronesia, Trust Funds
    • Karen Koltes - Coral Reef
    • Joseph McDermott – Marshall Islands, Trust Funds, IGIA, Palmyra Atoll, Excluded Areas
    • Stephen Sander - Legislative Affairs
    • Francisco Taitano - Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
    • Rebecca Zepeda - U.S. Virgin Islands

Office of Insular Affairs - Policy Division
U.S. Department of the Interior
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20240
Phone: (202) 208-6816
FAX: (202) 219-1989

Budget Division

Division budgets and accounts for OIA office expenditures and island grants. This division also maintains management for specially appropriated grant programs. 

  • Keith Augenbaugh - CIP and Compact Impact for Guam and the CNMI
  • Mark BrownCompact Impact, CIP, Water and Wastewater grants in American Samoa and the U.S. Virgin Islands, Energy, Empowering Insular Areas
  • Jonathan DunnBudget
  • Holly GonzalezAdministrative Officer
  • Wali OsmanEconomist
  • Annette StewartGrant Obligations and Payments, Budget
  • Marina TinitaliAudits and Accountability
  • Field Offices in Hawaii, FSM, and Palau report to Budget Division Director

Budget Division Office
Office of Insular Affairs
U.S. Department of the Interior
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20240
Phone: (202) 208-6971
FAX: (202) 208-7585

Technical Assistance Division

The Division of Technical Assistance provides discretionary technical assistance funding to the insular governments, institutions and private firms which fall under OIA jurisdiction.

  • Mary Baltimore - Program Analyst/Grants Manager
  • Jennifer Feng - MAP Grants Manager
  • Hailey McCoy - Program Assistant
  • Merriam Porter - Program Analyst/Grants Manager

Technical Assistance Division Office
Office of Insular Affairs
U.S. Department of the Interior
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20240
Phone: (202) 208-4707
FAX: (202) 208-7585

OIA's Honolulu Field Office

This office manages Compact II requirements for finance, performance standards and sector grants for the Federated States of Micronesia and Republic of the Marshall Islands.

  • Stephen Savage Field Office Manager - Infrastructure, Compact Grants
  • Ryan Edgar - Education Sector Grants Manager/SEG
  • Kristen Oleyte - Compact Impact, Detailee to USPACOM, kristen.oleyte@pacom.mil
  • Lisa Dammar - Health Sector Grants Manager

Office of Insular Affairs – Honolulu Office
733 Bishop Street, Suite 2530
Honolulu, Hawaii 96817
Phone (808) 525-5088
Fax (808) 525-5399

OIA Field Representatives

  • American Samoa - Lydia Faleafine-Nomura - (684) 633-2800
  • Federated States of Micronesia - Cheryl Burkindine - (691)320-2187
  • Marshall Islands - Al Fowler - (692) 247-4011