Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs



Our Mission 

The Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs (OIEA) strengthens relationships between state and local partners and external stakeholders with the Office of the Secretary.  OIEA also serves as liaison for governmental and non-governmental partners in communicating with Departmental offices and the Bureaus.

John Blair, Director
John_Blair@ios.doi.gov
(202) 208-1923

Terri Johnson, Deputy Director

Terri_Johnson@ios.doi.gov
(202) 208-7513

Francisco Carrillo, Deputy Director
Francisco_Carrillo@ios.doi.gov
(202) 208-5541

Maria Najera, Special Assistant 
Maria_Najera@ios.doi.gov
(202) 513-0888

Steven Avila, Special Assistant
Steven_Avila@ios.doi.gov
(202)208-6015

Vicki Dixon, Program Analyst
Vicki_Dixon@ios.doi.gov
(202) 208-7461

Valerie Smith, Program Assistant
Valerie_V_Smith@ios.doi.gov
(202) 208-1923

Main Office Line:

202-208-1923

Fax:

202-208-1821

Mailing Address:

Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs 

U.S. Department of the Interior 

1849 C Street NW, Room 6213

Washington, D.C. 20240