The Emergency Management Council (EMC) is an advisory body, and provides the primary means for bureaus and offices to advise the Departmental Emergency Coordinator and to coordinate Department-wide emergency management policy and activities. The EMC is comprised of the Emergency Coordinators for each DOI bureau and office as designated within the Departmental Manual Part 900. This standing group has the responsibility for bureau/office coordination, prevention, preparedness, response, and recovery associated with disaster and emergency incidents, as well as supporting the National Response Plan (NRP) and associated Emergency Support Functions (ESFs). The EMC is chaired by the Departmental Emergency Coordinator who may appoint additional ad hoc members. The EMC meets monthly and may also be convened on an emergency basis for coordination of special activities or serious emergency incidents.

Members of the Emergency Management Council include the following:

Emergency Coordinator Bureau/Office Phone Number Email Address
Laurence Broun Departmental Emergency Coordinator 202 208-4679 Laurence_Broun@ios.doi.gov
Steven (Sid) Caesar
Bureau of Indian Affairs
 202-208-3555 Steven.Caesar@bia.gov
Eric North Bureau of Indian Education
505 563-5118 eric.north@bie.edu
Ed Jerome
Bureau of Land Management
202 912-7498 ejerome@blm.gov
William Shipp
Bureau of Reclamation
303 445-2799 Wshipp@usbr.gov
Tamara Lukjanczuk Bureau of Ocean Energy Management 202-208-3942 tamara.lukjanczuk@boem.gov
Terrina Harford Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement 703 787-1429 Terrina.Harford@bsee.gov
LeaAnne Thorne U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
703 358-2226 LeaAnne_Thorne@fws.gov
Joseph Kovalchick Interior Business Center
303 969-7261 Joe_P_Kovalchick@nbc.gov
Dean Ross National Park Service
202 513-7093 Dean_Ross@nps.gov
James Robison Office of Inspector General 703 487-5377 JAMES_ROBISON@DOIOIG.GOV
Tim Quinn Office of the Chief Information Officer
703 648-5501 Timothy_Quinn@ios.doi.gov
Ryan Close Office of International Affairs
202 208-3004 ryan_close@ios.doi.gov
John Mills Office of Aviation Services
208 433-5072 John_Mills@nbc.gov
Frank Quimby Office of Communications
202 208-6416 Frank_Quimby@ios.doi.gov
Sheila Perry Office of Natural Resources Revenue
303-231-3610 Sheila.Perry@onrr.gov
Vincenzo Mazzier Office of Wildland Fire
202 513-0753 Vincenzo_Mazzier@ios.doi.gov
Kathryn Bender Office of Acquisition and Property Management
202 254-5563 Kathryn_L_Bender@ios.doi.gov
David Behler
Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance
202 208-4305 David_Behler@ios.doi.gov
Melanie Navarro Office of Financial Management
202 208-6227 Melanie_Navarro@ios.doi.gov
Nicholas Chomycia Office of Human Resources
202 208-6107 Nicholas_Chomycia@ios.doi.gov
Bob Garbe Office of Occupational Safety and Health
303 236-7128 Robert_Garbe@ios.doi.gov
Marina Tinitali Office of Insular Areas
202 208-5920 Marina_Tinitali@ios.doi.gov
Jeffrey Waalkes Office of Law Enforcement and Security
202 208-6333 Jeff_Waalkes@ios.doi.gov
Kim Prendergast Office of Budget
202 208-6443 Kimberly_Prendergast@ios.doi.gov
Max Brown Office of Surface Mining
202 208-2652 mbrown2@osmre.gov
Leon Craig Office of the Special Trustee
202 208-6618 Leon_Craig@ost.doi.gov
Larry Emanuel Solicitor 202 208-1549 larry.emanuel@sol.doi.gov
Stephen Hammond U.S. Geological Survey
703 648-5033 sehammon@usgs.gov