Email Updates
Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.


Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.
Email Updates
Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.
U.S. Department of the Interior
twitter facebook youtube tumblr instagram Google+ flickr
Resources for:

Click to toggle text size.

Emergency Management Council

The Emergency Management Council (EMC) is an advisory body, and provides the primary means for bureaus and offices to advise the Departmental Emergency Coordinator and to coordinate Department-wide emergency management policy and activities. The EMC is comprised of the Emergency Coordinators for each DOI bureau and office as designated within the Departmental Manual Part 900. This standing group has the responsibility for bureau/office coordination, prevention, preparedness, response, and recovery associated with disaster and emergency incidents, as well as supporting the National Response Plan (NRP) and associated Emergency Support Functions (ESFs). The EMC is chaired by the Departmental Emergency Coordinator who may appoint additional ad hoc members. The EMC meets monthly and may also be convened on an emergency basis for coordination of special activities or serious emergency incidents.

Members of the Emergency Management Council include the following:

Emergency Coordinator Bureau/Office Phone Number Email Address
Laurence Broun Departmental Emergency Coordinator 202 208-4679
Steven (Sid) Caesar
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Eric North Bureau of Indian Education
505 563-5118
Ed Jerome
Bureau of Land Management
202 912-7498
William Shipp
Bureau of Reclamation
303 445-2799
Tamara Lukjanczuk Bureau of Ocean Energy Management 202-208-3942
Terrina Harford Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement 703 787-1429
LeaAnne Thorne U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
703 358-2226
Joseph Kovalchick Interior Business Center
303 969-7261
Dean Ross National Park Service
202 513-7093
James Robison Office of Inspector General 703 487-5377 JAMES_ROBISON@DOIOIG.GOV
Tim Quinn Office of the Chief Information Officer
703 648-5501
Ryan Close Office of International Affairs
202 208-3004
John Mills Office of Aviation Services
208 433-5072
Frank Quimby Office of Communications
202 208-6416
Sheila Perry Office of Natural Resources Revenue
Vincenzo Mazzier Office of Wildland Fire
202 513-0753
Kathryn Bender Office of Acquisition and Property Management
202 254-5563
David Behler
Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance
202 208-4305
Melanie Navarro Office of Financial Management
202 208-6227
Nicholas Chomycia Office of Human Resources
202 208-6107
Bob Garbe Office of Occupational Safety and Health
303 236-7128
Marina Tinitali Office of Insular Areas
202 208-5920
Jeffrey Waalkes Office of Law Enforcement and Security
202 208-6333
Kim Prendergast Office of Budget
202 208-6443
Max Brown Office of Surface Mining
202 208-2652
Leon Craig Office of the Special Trustee
202 208-6618
Larry Emanuel Solicitor 202 208-1549
Stephen Hammond U.S. Geological Survey
703 648-5033