About the Southwest CSC

Location: University of Arizona - Tucson
Director: Dr. Stephen Jackson

The Southwest Climate Science Center (SW CSC) was established by the U.S. Department of the Interior as part of a network of eight CSCs created to provide scientific information, tools, and techniques that managers and other parties interested in land, water, wildlife and cultural resources can use to anticipate, monitor, and adapt to climate change. For more information about the SW CSC, please see the draft Science Agenda and 2013 Workplan

The vision for the Southwest Climate Science Center is to foster effective collaboration between scientists and resource managers in anticipating, monitoring, and adapting to climate variability and change in the Southwest, and attain national distinction in developing best practices for translational climate science. 

The SW CSC is hosted by a consortium of six institutions that comprise the Southwest Climate Alliance: University of Arizona, Tucson; University of California, Davis; University of California, Los Angeles; Desert Research Institute, Reno;  University of Colorado, Boulder; and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the University of California, San Diego. The University of Arizona serves as the central location and administrative center for the SW CSC. In addition to the host institutions, the SW CSC also includes important partner institutions. Science priorities of the SW CSC are driven by a Stakeholder Advisory Committee and supported by a Science Implementation Panel.

Southwest region


Page Last Updated: January 30, 2013