Subscribe

Email Updates
Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.

Subscribe

Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.
Email Updates
Sign up to stay informed about the latest happenings at Interior.
twitter facebook youtube tumblr instagram Google+ flickr
Resources:


Share
Click to toggle text size.

Partners of the North Central CSC




The North Central Climate Science Center (NC CSC) is designed to encourage, facilitate, and participate in cooperative action to address climate adaptation science needs across the entire North Central region. The NC CSC actively works with members of its University Consortium, regional USGS Centers, Landscape Conservation Cooperatives, a Joint Stakeholder Committee (together with the USDA Northern Plains Climate Hub), and other federal and state, public and private entities. Visit the NC CSC's university-led website to learn more.

University Consortium Members

University Name
Primary Contact
Alternate Contact(s)
Colorado State University (host institution)
Nolan Doesken
(
nolan@engr.colostate.edu)
Colorado School of Mines
Reed Maxwell
(rmaxwell@mines.edu)

University of Colorado-Boulder
Kristen Averyt
(
kristen.averyt@noaa.gov)
Eric Gordon
Iowa State University
Diane Debinski
(
debinski@iastate.edu)
Kansas State University
John Briggs
(
jbriggs1@ksu.edu)
John Blair
(
jblair@ksu.edu)
Montana State University
Cathy Whitlock
(
whitlock@montana.edu)
Todd Kipfer
(
tkipfer@montana.edu)
University of Montana
Steve Running
(
swr@ntsg.umt.edu)
Solomon Dobrowski
(
solomon.dobrowski@cfc.umt.edu)
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Bob Oglesby
(
roglesby2@unl.edu)
Clint Rowe
(
crowe1@unl.edu)
University of Wyoming
Bill Lauenroth
(
wlauenro@uwyo.edu)
Indy Burke
(
iburke@uwyo.edu)
Bart Geerts
(
geerts@uwyo.edu)
Jill Lovato
(
jillberg@uwyo.edu)

Joint Stakeholder Committee

Federally-charged climate teams in the north central domain are taking the lead on establishing a joint stakeholder committee that encompasses both the regional USDA Northern Plains Climate Hub and the DOI North Central Climate Science Center. This joint committee provides guidance, coordination, and collaboration to these two unique-but-complimentary entities and helps facilitate communication and awareness for federally-funded climate research. The creation of a joint stakeholder committee allows both the Climate Hub and the NC CSC to maximize communication, awareness, and coordination among federal agencies and reduce redundancy and stakeholder fatigue among its members.
Affiliation Name e-mail
USGS Regional Office
Allison Shipp (Co-chair)
aashipp@usgs.gov 
Plains and Prairie Potholes LCC
Rick Nelson

Richard_D_Nelson@fsw.gov
Great Northern LCC
Sean Finn
sean_finn@fws.gov
Great Plains LCC
James Broska
James_Broska@fws.gov
Southern Rockies LCC
Kevin Johnson
Kevin_M_Johnson@fws.gov
Fish and Wildlife Service Regional Office
Steve Torbit Stephen_Torbit@fws.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Patrick Erger perger@usbr.gov
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Jarvis Gust
jarvis.gust@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management
Katherine Kitchell
kkitchell@blm.gov
National Park Service Tom Olliff tom_olliff@nps.gov
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Patrick Erger perger@usbr.gov
Federal Emergency Management Agency OPEN OPEN
DOE Western Area Power Administration
OPEN
OPEN
Environmental Protection Agency Region 7
Amy Shields
shields.amy@epa.gov
Environmental Protection Agency Region 8
Laura Farris
farris.laura@epa.gov
NOAA Regional Climate Services Doug Kluck doug.kluck@noaa.gov
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory Robert Webb robert.s.webb@noaa.gov
Tribal Representative Julia Sage jsage@poncatribe-ne.org
Tribal Representative
Gary Collins redcloud@wyoming.com
USDA Agricultural Research Service
Dana Blumenthal (Co-chair)
Dana.Blumenthal@ars.usda.gov
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Theresa Boyle

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Rafael Guerrero Rafael.Guerrero@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Forest Service, Urban and Community Forest  Dana Coelho dcoelho@fs.fed.us
U.S. Forest Service, National Agroforestry Center
Michele Schoeneberger

mschoeneberger@fs.fed.us 
USDA Farm Services Agency
Aaron Krauter Aaron.Krauter@nd.usda.gov
USDA Risk Management Agency
OPEN OPEN
USDA Rural Development
OPEN OPEN
DOI North Central Climate Science Center (ex officio - Government Agency Implementation Lead)
Jeff Morisette morisettej@usgs.gov
USDA Northern Plains Regional Climate Hub (ex officio - Government Agency Implementation Lead)
Justin Derner Justin.Derner@ars.usda.gov
NOAA/University: Western Water Assessment RISA (ex officio - Research Community Liaison)
Lisa Dilling  lisa.dilling@colorado.edu 
DOI/University: NC CSC Univeristy Consortium (ex officio - Research Community Liaison)
Dennis Ojima
Dennis.Ojima@colostate.edu 
Climate Community: National Center for Atmospheric Research (ex officio - Research Community Liaison)
 Lawrence Buja  southern@rap.ucar.edu

USGS Centers within the North Central Domain

USGS Center
Name e-mail
Columbia Environmental Research Center
Rip Shively (director)
Mark Wildhaber (lead contact)
rsshively@usgs.gov
mwildhaber@usgs.gov
Earth Resource Observation and Science Center
Frank Kelly (director)
James Vogelman (lead contact)
fkelly@usgs.gov
vogel@usgs.gov
Fort Collins Science Center
David Hamilton (director)
Cathy Thomas, Zach Bowen (lead contacts)
hamiltond@usgs.gov
ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov, bowenz@usgs.gov
Geology and Environmental Change Science Center
Buddy Schweig (director)
chweig@usgs.gov
Geosciences and Climate Change Science Center
Thomas DiNardo (director)
Todd Haubaker (lead contact)
tpdinardo@usgs.gov
tjhawbaker@usgs.gov
Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center
Robert Gleason (director)
Max Post van der Burg (lead contact)
rgleason@usgs.gov
maxpostvanderburg@usgs.gov
Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
Jeff Kershner (director)
Rick Sodja (lead contact)
jkershner@usgs.gov
sojda@usgs.gov
USGS National Research Program
Don Campbell (Central Region Branch Chief)
Lauren Hay (lead contact)
dhcampbe@usgs.gov
lhay@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Colorado
Susan Paschke
spaschke@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Iowa
Kevin Richards
krichard@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Kansas
Andrew Ziegler
aziegler@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Minnesota
James Stark
stark@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Missouri
Michael Slifer
meslifer@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Montana
John Kilpatrick
jmkilpat@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Nebraska
Robert Swanson
rswanson@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, North Dakota
Gregg Wiche
glwiche@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, South Dakota
Mark Anderson
manders@usgs.gov
Water Science Center, Wyoming
David Mott
dmott@usgs.gov
USGS Cooperative Research Units
Kevin Whalen (CRU contact)
kwhalen@usgs.gov